Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These muffins were yummy :) I finely diced the apple instead of grating it and I realized i was out of eggs only when i was making it lol so i whisked some soft tofu then added that instead. Will try again with eggs soon. The muffins came out a bit too moist and didnt rise too much but this is probably because of the no eggs :P i also added some cloves, ground ginger, and a bit of nutmeg because i like the flavour. oh and i didnt add any nuts or raisins. and it made about 16 muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
These are 5 star muffins as written, but I substituted in subsequent batches: whole wheat flour, less sugar, applesauce, and no mixed nuts. Lately I sprinkle some crushed pecans on top for a bit of roasted nuttiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Used 1 cup whole wheat white flour, 1/2 cup wheat bran, only 1/2 cup walnuts, sultanas instead of regular raisins, no oil, about 4 cups of zucchini instead of carrots and apples and about 1 cup of frozen blueberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Five plus stars--I've been baking for over 50 years and tried many muffin recipes and these are the very best! They have a wonderful flavor and a great texture. Easy to make. If you are interested in a good muffin--try these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Hands down the best muffins I have ever made! So moist, yet still fluffy AND full of fiber! I love them! I used whole wheat flour and they still turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemagoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
They were delish, and stayed moist for days! I substituted one of the teaspoons of cinnamon with 1/2 tsp ginger and 1/2 tsp nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hanrahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Firstly YUM! Secondly, WOW! And Thirdly: Thank you! First time made to the letter. Hubby wasn't keen on nuts so second time made without nuts and went down really well. I've tried substituting oil for apple sauce and sugar for a half measure of sugar substitute and works just as well making them fat and sugar free to boot (other than the natural sugars of the fruit that is). I make these regularly now but also add 2tsp of mixed spice to make them even spicier and also sometimes do them with two bananas instead of apples. They really are bootiful! AND guilt free!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This is a simple, tasty recipe. I reduced the brown sugar by about 1/2 cup and packed in the carrots and apples. I also used whole wheat "super flour" (add 1 Tb each soy flour, wheat germ, 1 tsp brewer's yeast to measuring cup then complete the cup with whole wheat flour) ) My three year old loves them. Dense, moist, and deliciously healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These are very good for a healthy treat. They adapt well to what you have on hand. I have sent this recipe to numerous friends. They all love them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I wouldn't say I went into this with a bad attitude, but definitely a defiant one. I thought there was no way these could be as good, and as adaptable, as everyone said. So I went a little crazy. Instead of all-purpose flour, I used half spelt flour and half whole wheat flour. I used 1 3/4 c. applesauce instead of chopped apples. I used craisins instead of raisins. I lowered the quantity of nuts and upped the quantity of carrots. And they turned out perfectly. These are so exceptional! You'd never guess they're healthy- even my kids, who can be picky little pains in the tush about grains, ate the heck out of 'em. I did make an icing using mascarpone, powdered sugar and milk in case anyone found them lacking in sweetness, but they're terrific plain as well. One last thing- these are super moist. Now go make some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States