Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Very good. I also changed it up a bit. I put 2 cups of frozen blueberries, grated 3 apples with peels on for extra fibre and 1 carrot. They turned out a lovey purple colour and are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These muffins were great! Came out very moist and delicious. I used already-shredded carrots to save on prep time, wheat bran (because that's what I had in the cupboard), wheat flour to make them even healthier, cranberries (because my husband doesn't like raisins) and chopped pecans. My 16 month old son loves them and my picky husband who doesn't eat "health food" thought they were pretty good. Passed the recipe on to my in-laws and they love them as well. I ended up with 21 muffins so I froze half of them so they don't go to waste. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My husband is a big fan of both bran and flax but wasn't impressed with these. He said not to make them again. I did taste them and found them to be just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I make these for my daughter who is vegan. I substitute soy milk and egg replacer or applesauce. I used unbleached white flour. There is usually more batter than my large 12 cup muffin tin, so I use two Minnie loaf pans which stay in for five minutes longer. Great and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
These muffins are amazing! I made a few changes: omitted the vegetable oil, used whole wheat flour instead of white flour, omitted carrots since I did not have any on hand, omitted the brown sugar and replaced with 1/2 a cup of truvia sugar substitute. I also experimented with a few muffins... I cut up orange slices into small pieces (removed seeds) and combined that with the mixture. My husband thought those came out more moist. Either way they tasted delicious! For my second batch, I did use carrots in the whole batch and then also made a few muffins with cut up frozen strawberries and a few more with frozen blueberries... they came out even more delicious! These muffins are truly indestructible. A tip for the apples: I left the skin on them and cut up the apple into slices and put chopped them in my mini-blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Oh my goodness, these muffins are amazing! I omitted the bran because I didn't have any and used 1 cup white flour, and 1 1/4 cup wheat flour, in addition to a 1/4 cup of almond meal and a handful of dried cranberries. If the batter is not moist enough, add a tiny bit more milk or oil. I also cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. These muffins don't rise very much, but they are delicious and satisfying, especially with a teaspoon of orange marmalade! Healthiest muffin I've ever made/ eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I really liked the flavor of these. They were a bit heavy, but aren't most bran muffins? I think I messed up a bit by used rolled oats instead of oat bran. I also used 1 big apple instead of 2 which was plenty. I would definitely recommend using a non stick muffin pan instead of cups - I tried both and was so happy that I did. So much of the muffin got stuck inside the cups (at least in the version I made).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Point, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Great muffins! I love that they have apples, carrots, nuts and raisins-- very healthy. And not only are they good for you, they taste great. Definitely will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
As other posters have mentioned, this recipe mirrors the Bob's Red Mill Recipe on the back of the flax bag, which does omit the oil. I followed the bag recipe and the results were moist, dense, chewy medium and mini muffins, that were a good balance of texture and flavor. Couldn't quite give the recipe 5 stars, because the flavor of the eggs and flax were too persistent in this first batch. Will have to think on how to remedy this. However, kudos to the creator of this recipe. As my boyfriend described, it is a bowl of muesli in a muffin. Really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
A great, healthy recipe. I love the texture the bran and flax gives these muffins. I substituted whole wheat flour, unsweetened applesauce for the apples, and instead of raisins I used craisins and chopped dries apricots. They are delicious and I'm especially glad I won't need to feel guilty if I cave and eat a few of them at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States