Bran Flakes Muffins with Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
I think these muffins would be great if they were properly sized. The recipe says 8 servings. But, the recipe itself says to grease 12 muffin cups and so I made 12 muffins and there was not enough batter for them. I baked them 20 minutes instead of 30 because of their size. Since there were no spices in the recipe, I added 1/2 teaspoon cinamon and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. I would suggest reducing the salt as well and possibly using oil rather than shortening. I would add 1/4 cup of raisins since I don't think there were enough in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
These were great. My kids even ate them! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Santa Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Not the absolute best muffin I've added, but very tasty and moist as well. My two year old son loved them. I never used the salt and they turned out fine. I also substituted the sugar with half cup of black-strap molasses. Since Raisin Bran doesn't have enough raisins when only using one cup, I recommend adding other chopped fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Siever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Five star because husband LOVED them. I wasn't too thrilled. It was very salty, next time I might cut the salt in 1/2. For those who don't want whole flakes in their muffins try soaking the flakes in the milk mixture for 10-15 minutes. I did that and there was no sign of the flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Not bad but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Nice and moist, but not very sweet. I think they were a bit too salty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
i also added walnuts and used a combination of half oil and half water (instead of just the oil). it still came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
Not fond of raisins so I used just plain bran flakes. They turned out great. The family loved them but my husband requested that I crush the flakes first. He didn't really like finding whole flakes in his muffins. This is my new recipe for breakfast muffins. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
Tasted great and was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
The kids said these were the best muffins EVER. (I added a little nutmeg.) Thanks from all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States