Bran Flakes Muffins with Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I love bran muffins, and Raisin Bran cereal so this seemed like a no fail combo. I just tasted one of these hot out of the oven are they were pretty good for how easy they were to make. Though I did doctor them up: I used 3/4 whole wheat flour and 1/4 all purpose flour, 1 prepacked cup of applesauce, and I threw in some flax seed and whole wheat germ for added nutrition. I am sure with jam these will be a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I read other reviews first and followed suit, using half the salt and halving the baking time. I used plain bran flakes because I'm not a big fan of raisins. I also crushed the flakes, added 1/2 cup of blueberries, 2 Tbsp. of honey, and about 1/4 cup more milk [I think this was due to letting the cereal sit for so long to soak up the milk], topped them with some oats and they were absolutely delicious. My boyfriend and kids loved them.. very moist. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The taste of the muffin was very good. I gave it 4 stars and not five becuase they came out a little "tough". I am not sure if it was me or the recipe. Also, it made 6 muffins fit for an adult not 12 tiny baby muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Pretty good - nothing real exciting. But, I was just looking for a bran muffin recipe. I did shorten the cooking time to 20 minutes. I used buttermilk instead of milk and oil instead of shortening. I crushed the flakes, added less salt, and added extra raisins. And cinnamon. Next time I would add a little more sugar and a little more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I've made these many times over the years. I use buttermilk, butter, whole wheat flour and one chopped banana. I also add one tsp. of vanilla extract. These keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
i doubled the recipe and used a can of sweetened (low fat) condensed milk in place of regular milk and added no sugar--used pumpkin puree instead of oil and used all whole wheat flour--had a half can of peaches to use up so chopped those small and added--turned out great! loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
A nice, quick recipe for Bran Muffins that really don't taste like Bran Muffins! Very pleasant tasting. As I didn't have shortening, I substituted butter. The only change I would make would be to shorten the cooking time -- I was not careful enough, and after 26 minutes, the bottoms of a few of them were a little dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Makes for a great base recipe for muffins using cereal. I doubled the recipe. I did use less salt, added cicnnamon and allspice, used cactus honey powder instead of sugar, used mashed overripe banana and a splash of oil instead of shortening, and used half unbleached white and half wheat flour. Oh and I used some raisin bran and some all bran and added chopped dates. I baked at 375 for 18min. lol, like I said great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I omitted the refined sugar and replaced with same measurement of honey. These came out great - not too sweet and full of fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
These were very good, not overly sweet, but sweet enough. Not what I'd call 'healthy' because of the oil/shortning and sugar, but a nice treat. My toddler is eating it as we speak, which is why I've given it 5 stars! Like other reviewers, I found the time given WAY to long. I cooked mine at moderate, for 15 minutes in my fan-forced oven and that was perfect. Also, I didn't grease my non-stick oven tray, and they came out cleanly. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyabing, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States