Bran Flakes Muffins with Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I followed the instructions exactly. I went in to check on the muffins after about 22 minutes and they were already burnt. I pulled one out to taste, and they were mostly flavorless except for the salt. Waaaaayy to much salt. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
easy to make ,first time I ever make bran muffins. I may use applesauce instead of oil next time.I crushed b.flakes ,did not use raisins my husband dont like them. Turned out great .watch closley all ovens very .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Little dry and cook way faster than the recipe says. Also, if I make them again I'll omit the salt or at least cut it in half. They are convenient at I usually have all the ingredients on hand and I can make a small batch. Worth tinkering with a little to see if I can increase their moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
My kids really enjoyed these muffins. They aren't very sweet so I didn't mind giving them 2nds and 3rds. The only problem was my first batch almost burned. After only 20 minutes they were darker than I like. But by adjusting the oven to 375 and the timer to 18 min we had perfect muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Makes about 11 muffins and cut down baking time a bit. Worth making for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe! I substituted buttermilk for the milk and it was greater. Thank you Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tamarac, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Once my kids eat all the raisins out of the Raisin Bran cereal, there is always some bran cereal around. So to get rid of it I tried this recipe and added raisins (1/2 cup) back in. I doubled the recipe to make 18 muffins. Following other suggestions I swapped the oil for shortening and reduced the salt by half. And as also noted, the cooking time should only be about 20 minutes. I added a 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and also sprinkled the top with some cinnamon sugar. These are not as bran as most bran muffins. A little on the bland side even with cinnamon and definitely not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I did not find this recipe too salty. It was just too boring. Way too bland. Plus the cooking time is way off. Done in 20 minutes. I have a brand-new oven which heats perfectly, so I know it isn't my oven. I'll be searching for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoughGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
i make a few simple changes to really make these a family fav. as others have mentioned, i double the recipe. for the shortening, i use one mashed banana plus 1/4 liquid crisco. for the flour, i use 1c. white flour, plus 1c. whole wheat flour. i also add 1/4c bran buds and 3tbsp ground flax to the bran flakes mixture. i use only 1/4 c. sugar for the doubled recipe. my kids, gobble these up, without knowing how healthy they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I actually only made these muffins because I was looking for a recipe that I had all the ingredients for. These were great. The taste totally surprised me. I will be making them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States