Bramboracky (Czech Savory Potato Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
These were excellent potato pancakes! I often find that recipes call for too many eggs for the amount of potato but this one was just right. I substituted oregano for the marjoram, left out the caraway seeds (I didn't have any) and added in some onion powder. They were light, crispy and delicious with some apple sauce. Thanks Sonya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These were fantastic. I've always wanted to try potato pancakes, and I came across this recipe. I cut my potatoes into chunks and grated them with a rotary grater into a bowl of cold water and let it soak for half an hour. I also added onion salt to mine.The flavor is great and mine were light and fluffy. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelbrandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I am a full-blooded Czech and this is exactly how we always make the potato pancakes (called "bramboraky" or "cmunda"). Traditionally these are fried in lard - it adds that extra flavor but I doubt many would try that. When I make them at my home here in America, I just use regular vegetable oil. Few pointers: Don't skip or substitute the marjoram, I actually add way more then just a pinch. Also add lots of pepper and especially salt. Potatoes tend to soak up the salt flavor quite a bit. Lets face it, this is not a healthy meal to begin with, so you might as well make it right. Like Sonya recommends, fry up and taste the first pancake, it should have a nice salty/garlicky flavor. Even tho I've made these many times, it usually takes me more then one trial pancake to get the flavor right. When my mom made these, it was the one time we didn't actually have a sit down family dinner. We would just sneak them right when they were done and she ate as she was making them. They just taste the best when they're nice and hot right out of the frying pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra Vítu Kozbiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I used to love getting potatoes pancakes with apple compote and thick sour cream at this one Russian Restaurant in New York, which I miss so much. I've tried many recipes and mixes, but couldn't get the taste, texture and crisp. I would use onions and it would always come out a little too moist and dense. Thank you! I finally got crisp potato pancakes, flavorful with the caraway seeds and marjoram. We decided to use this liquid creme fraiche that we had in fridge instead of milk. Served it with some homemade rum spiced apple compote and a nice blonde beer . I really dug the caraway seed flavor it added, and as you mentioned the beer! Oh I thought I 'd share this with you since you mentioned Korea and potato pancakes, my mom would make it with green onions, shredded carrots and dried cod. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysis
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Easy and Yummy! Everyone in the family really liked. I placed left over cakes in the fridge and ate cold the next day. They were good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, made a sour cream and dill topping, and didn't have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty_Cracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was an amazing recipe. It immediately caught my eye because my heritage is Czechoslovakian and I have never really explored their cuisine. With this recipe I followed the batter recipe almost exactly except I substituted Cumin and Oregano. I also made my pancakes with a hole in the center and added a poached egg with runny yoke in the hole (the yoke makes a great sauce to bind all the flavors). I threw on some fresh tomatoes and shredded cheese to top of all of this off and garnished with a bit of fresh cilantro. It was truly Deeeeeelish!!! Thanks Sonya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raj H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
These potato pancakes tasted good and different. I give them three stars because they frying is not my preference and the recipe didn't act like a batter (I scooped my pancakes into the pan). FYI-I tried frying them in nonstick spray, but they were not good that way. Also, the portion size must be huge because I used two large potatoes and came up with about four servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babytooth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
These were very good and easy! I had to skip the caraway seeds as I didn't have any but they were still good. I'll make them often, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
We made them with much ease. We added grated parmesean, which was very good. However, I don't recommend frying in Canola oil. NOt sure what kind you should use....anyway, Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States