Bramboracky (Czech Savory Potato Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
We made them with much ease. We added grated parmesean, which was very good. However, I don't recommend frying in Canola oil. NOt sure what kind you should use....anyway, Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was an amazing recipe. It immediately caught my eye because my heritage is Czechoslovakian and I have never really explored their cuisine. With this recipe I followed the batter recipe almost exactly except I substituted Cumin and Oregano. I also made my pancakes with a hole in the center and added a poached egg with runny yoke in the hole (the yoke makes a great sauce to bind all the flavors). I threw on some fresh tomatoes and shredded cheese to top of all of this off and garnished with a bit of fresh cilantro. It was truly Deeeeeelish!!! Thanks Sonya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raj H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
loved it recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was a great potato cake recipe. I served it with my goulash and it was a hit! www.southtexascastandblast.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samjguess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I used to love getting potatoes pancakes with apple compote and thick sour cream at this one Russian Restaurant in New York, which I miss so much. I've tried many recipes and mixes, but couldn't get the taste, texture and crisp. I would use onions and it would always come out a little too moist and dense. Thank you! I finally got crisp potato pancakes, flavorful with the caraway seeds and marjoram. We decided to use this liquid creme fraiche that we had in fridge instead of milk. Served it with some homemade rum spiced apple compote and a nice blonde beer . I really dug the caraway seed flavor it added, and as you mentioned the beer! Oh I thought I 'd share this with you since you mentioned Korea and potato pancakes, my mom would make it with green onions, shredded carrots and dried cod. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysis
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Actually the best way how to enjoy Bramboracky is to finally top them on your plate just with handful of pickled cabbage. The sour one is the best one. And if you enhance the dough with smoked bacon chopped fine (as mentioned in the recipe), you' ll do no wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, made a sour cream and dill topping, and didn't have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty_Cracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I am a full-blooded Czech and this is exactly how we always make the potato pancakes (called "bramboraky" or "cmunda"). Traditionally these are fried in lard - it adds that extra flavor but I doubt many would try that. When I make them at my home here in America, I just use regular vegetable oil. Few pointers: Don't skip or substitute the marjoram, I actually add way more then just a pinch. Also add lots of pepper and especially salt. Potatoes tend to soak up the salt flavor quite a bit. Lets face it, this is not a healthy meal to begin with, so you might as well make it right. Like Sonya recommends, fry up and taste the first pancake, it should have a nice salty/garlicky flavor. Even tho I've made these many times, it usually takes me more then one trial pancake to get the flavor right. When my mom made these, it was the one time we didn't actually have a sit down family dinner. We would just sneak them right when they were done and she ate as she was making them. They just taste the best when they're nice and hot right out of the frying pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra Vítu Kozbiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Easy and Yummy! Everyone in the family really liked. I placed left over cakes in the fridge and ate cold the next day. They were good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This will satisfy your Cesky Pancake cravings!! I love the blend of garlic & herbs in this recipe. Very good & tasty! *one time i switched it up by adding chopped bacon and shredded cheese - with side of ketchup was very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States