Bramblett's Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Amazing! I am on a low salt diet and needed a broth recipe. Followed this exact except for adding an apple. It smelled like Thanksgiving dinner was being cooked. This is my new recipe for broth I will look no more! Flavor is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This produced a very nice stock. Ignore the typo error where it says the original recipe yields "1-1/2 quarts". The only liquid ingredient here is 1 quart (or litre) of water, so once you've let it simmer for 30 min., you're left with about 2-1/2 cups of stock. I added 1/2 cup water at the end and used the total 3 cups in the Butternut Squash Bisque recipe also on this site. This is a great use for vegetable scraps, which later got tossed in the compost bin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Great recipe. I put the stock in a plastic bag after freezing in my 12 size cupcake pan. Cool and freeze larger amounts in a plastic bag or freeer container. Next time I will have 2 pots going so I can double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Thank you, after reading this-I collected my veggies and put them in the crockpot..the next time, I will brown the onions in olive oil first. In my stock- I had lots of carrots, celery, parsley,apples,some garlic, some black pepper...and lettuce (which was what I had in the fridge)..the resulting stock was very delicate and perfumey. The next day I used it in a chicken stew and it ended up a most un-hearty smelling chicken stew...I may as well have put Earl Grey in my stew. But I LOVE this idea and will keep all my veggie extras in the freezer to experiment from now onwards..thank you so much:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
fantastic stock.... However, I want to warn cooks that stock making is not a garbage dump for old, over-ripe vegetables; carrot peels; and onion roots. This makes a bitter stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This recipe worked well for me. This was my first try at making my own Veggie Stock. I wanted a higher yield of broth so I doubled the water and added more salt, it seemed to turned out great. I also didn't want to waste the strained veggies, so I pureed them with a little added broth and it came out perfectly for baby food, I might even add a few more ingredients and make a creamy vegetable soup out of it... we will see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kutz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Excellent idea! Thank you. I now save all my cooking water from various veggies in one container in the freezer and use it to make this stock. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Great flavors. Now I can "go green" and recycle all my veggie peelings. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I just finished trying out this recipe and it came out fantastically! I had to make a few slight changes due to availability of ingredients at the supermarket, I used celery hearts in place of celeriac, and because I could not get squash I used a yam in place of that and the potato peelings. I left the skin on and chopped it into small cubes, and it seemed to work out just fine. I also had some leftover bell pepper in the fridge that I threw in as well, , nearly a whole green one & a 1/2 of a red one, seemed a perfect opportunity to keep them from going to waste! I followed the cooking instructions just as written and it came out perfectly, resulting in a wonderful and very tasty broth. I searched for a way to use the leftover veggies, as I hate and can't afford to waste, and found a quite clever one. She suggested blending the veggies with some olive oil, salt and other seasonings you like, and a bit of acid such as lemon, vinegar or wine. I haven't tried this yet but fully intend to. She did say that it comes out more tasty if your vegetables were roasted before-hand, but still comes out ok if they weren't. Worth a shot! Could also make a good sauce if added to tomatoes, perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great stock, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States