Braised Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I was hesitant to make this with all the reviews saying how bland it was. If you make it as the recipe states it is on the bland side. Add chopped green onions and some Braggs and it adds a lot more flavor. If you like the taste of shiitake mushrooms and aren't big on sauces, this is a great recipe. With my additions I would give a 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Nothing special, unfortunately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceeleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Wow, some overly harsh reviews for this recipe! I agree it is on the bland side, and am not really down with using sesame oil if for pan frying if you are trying to make it healthier. Here were the adjustments I made: 1. A heaping teaspoon of oyster sauce instead of 1/2 tsp. 2. 1 tsp. soy sauce 3. 1.5tsp granulated sugar 4. 1/4tsp. hot chili oil 5. reduce water to 1/2 cup 6. at the end, lower heat to medium-low and add .5tsp of cornstarch pre-mixed with .tsp of cold water to thicken. 7. Use canola oil instead of sesame. You more than make up for flavor with the amped up seasoning above. This yields a more flavorful sauce (I think) with enough viscosity to coat all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
It didn't turn out that great. I don't know if it's because I used frozen peas instead of snow peas, since I can't find any at Safeway. It was too watery and the tofu just taste like any regular tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Very bland. Needs more flavors. After tasting it I added chopped scallions, which helped some and sprinkled on soy sauce which helped more but it was still pretty tasteless. I think garlic and maybe some rice wine vinegar and a touch of mirin and would be worthwhile additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Sniatkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My family found this recipe way too bland. Maybe with some broccoli and more spices it would be okay, but then it would be a whole new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
we found this kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Tried that it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I've made so many mistakes cooking tofu in the past. It's usually just ended up a bland ugly mess. For this recipe, I marinated cubed extra-firm tofu overnight in a mixture of hoisin sauce, oyster sauce, Thai chili and garlic paste, sesame oil, and minced garlic. I then pretty much followed the recipe, although I ended up adding a bit more oyster sauce to the mix. I served it over angel hair pasta, with a sprinkle of sliced green onions. Good stuff. Thanks, Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
the tofu didn't come out the way I expected...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States