Braised Skirt Steak with Artichoke Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Made as written, Was disappointing :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellent! Like others I had to modify a few ingredients (no jalapenos or capers) added onions and mushrooms. My skirt steak was a little thin so I would cook it for a shorter time next time to have a more medium cooked steak. The flavors were AMAZING, I will def be cooking this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Rochelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this almost as written. I did not have the pickled carrots, so I sliced some carrots and cooked in beef broth in the microwave until soft. I also used canned artichoke hears and canned jalapeno peppers, since that is what I had on hand. I was super excited to try this recipe, as I was trying to find something to make with the beef I had and the ingredients in my pantry that was different than the old stand by stroganoff or beef stew. While this was easy to make, I found it quiet sour and the boiled beef, eh. I am not sure the pickeled carrots would have improved the flavor, as the sourness from the capers and the artichokes was in of themselves, strong. I like that most of the time, but I did pair this with some green beans cooked with bacon and onions and that seems to help...maybe add some bacon??? I may make again, but not likely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was delish!!! I did not add the jalapeno peppers because mom can not have them, and pickled carrots could not find. Was still great. We all loved it and will be making it again. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Loved it - would leave out the jalapeno next time, just because the kids thought it was a little spicy. However, they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I would have given this 5 stars except that it turned out too salty. Will absolutely try this one again but will use no salt or reduced salt beef stock instead of bullion. Will rinse the capers and the jalapenos and use a lighter hand when salting the steak. I didn't use pickled carrots either (fresh cut). Served it with frizzled leaks on top and a side salad. Family loved it. There were no leftovers (always a sign of a good recipe). Thanks Jeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I can't understand why this recipe doesn't have a "hundred" reviews. It's like a hidden little gem. I call it my pantry recipe because everything was on hand with a short walk to my personal "store". I used beef stock instead of cubes and canned artichoke hearts instead of marinated, a half can of green chili's instead of pickled jalapeno's because that's what I had on hand. I used 2 chuck steaks that I wanted to used up because I left them in the freezer too long, I'm sure we have all done that from time to time! So I was looking for a dish with a host of strong flavors to compensate for any loss of flavor to the meat and this really fit the bill. Other than those minor changes I made this just like the author presented. My husband loves horseradish and the aroma comng from the oven was driving him crazy before it was served. After it was served, we agreed this would go into my book of favorite recipes. Thanks so much for offering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Really good, Jeff. I do it over a bed of wild rice. My wife and I get cravings for this dish from time to time. That's the real test of a recipe! My compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I COOKED THIS ENTIRELY ON THE STOVE. ADDED SWEET MARSALA WHEN THICKENING THE SAUCE. USED FRESH CARROTS SLICED VERY THIN AND BOILED IN SOME BEEF BROTH IN THE MICROWAVE. USED LOTS OF GARLIC AND SEASONINGS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I changed this recipe quite a bit, but it turned out fabulous and I wanted to thank Jeff. This is the first time I have ever reviewed a recipe. I made the changes because I didn't have all the exact ingredients. I used top sirloin steaks instead of the flank steak. I didn't have jalepenos or pickled carrots, so I substituted sliced mushrooms for those. Also I used canned artichoke hearts instead of marinated. I cooked the entire recipe on the stove top at low heat for health reasons. I added a little chopped garlic on top of the steaks (from a jar). With all these changes, the result was gourmet delicious. My husband and son and I enjoyed it immensely. The horseradish really made the taste scrumptious. Thanks, Jeff, for a great idea. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak

See how to make a simple miso glaze for grilled steaks.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States