Braised Rabbit with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Have made this twice and it's wonderful. I raise California rabbit's and had to double the recipe for the bigger rabbit. My whole family rated this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missymar
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this into a 10 star dinner! Never had rabbit before, but it was just so delicious. It was mostly the sauce that did it. I first fried up 1/4 lb. of bacon and used the drippings to brown the floured rabbit in, then put the bacon crumbled up into the sauce. I added 1 c dry white wine instead of water. I added 1 tsp. of dried thyme and 1 tsp. dried rosemary. Also cut up 1 med onion and added to the carrots and potatoes. I used all the called for ingredients and just made these extra additions. So I did alter the recipe a bit, but it really was a dish to remember. Next time, I'll try it with chicken parts so my husband will eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I did add a can of golden mushroom soup and extra broth. I came out like a rabbit stew. Thanks to the person that submitted the recipe because I love rabbit and never sure how to fix it. We served it over rice and mash potatoes. Both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wlad78
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
we did everything as in recipe and really loved what we got. this picture and dish requires something green on top like chaves (green young onion) and/or persil etc. Try and u have big chance to love it. tnx to original submiter for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wlad78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Absolutely phenomenal! The only thing I did differently was to brown the rabbit pieces in bacon fat, and I used half water/ half milk in the sauce. Will definitely make this again, although next time I will probably serve it with mashed potates. Thanks, Bluemonday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by puhutes
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I've never had rabbit before so I had no idea how to cook it. I didn't have access to cream of mushroom soup so I used a mushroom gravy instead and a cup of vegetable broth. The rest of the recipe remained pretty much the same and I served it with rice. Delicious, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe! Will be doing again but probably wont be using rabbit. (nothing wrong with the rabbit, just not enough meat) will probably use chicken. Only changes i made was using red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Really let down. Very watery, don't expect a gravy. Not much flavor. All the crust from frying the rabbit falls off and when you bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I had never tried rabbit before. Me and my boyfriend were pleasantly surprised that it wasn't gamey & taste pretty much like chicken. This recipe was a good choice for a first time rabbit dish. It took me quite a long time to prepare though between cutting up the rabbit (wish I had a sharper knife), boiling, using the skillet & setting up the oven pan. Luckily, my boyfriend was helping because I probably would have burned something in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jwalker78000
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I would highly recomend this one! I followed this recipe pretty close. I added a little bit of cayenne to my flour for a little kick. I accidenly got roasted garlic mushroom soup but didnt put any fresh garlic in the dish. I didnt have any carrots so I added an onion. Next time i will use all three root vegatables. The rabbit turned out tender and full of flavor! I served it with mashed potatoes even though I used them in the dish. I will try it with rice next time like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States