Braised Pork Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is seriously delish!! I loved it, however mine did turn out kind of greasy, but that's totally my fault because I always fill the pan too full of oil. I didn't use any wine only chicken broth, and I only had one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes. I had mine up too high so my sauce thickened up nicely and actually almost dissapeared. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was so good...I didn't have any pork and used a chuck roast I cut up. It did take a bit longer than 30 minutes for it to thicken up, but well worth the wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyGirl214
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Oh. Ma. Gawd. This was SO good. There were a couple of changes I made only because I'm really broke and have to use what I have. I used one pound of beef stew meat (pork was not on sale this week, but stew meat was) that I tenderized the heck out of and 8 oz. of quartered baby Bella mushrooms in place of the other pound of meat called for. When sauteing the onion, garlic and mushrooms together, I had to add a little butter in with the EVOO as the pan was a little dry with the added mushrooms. I served this with sour cream mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. Insane flavor. I can't wait to try this with pork. NOTE: I had to use two different pans to saute, one for the onions, garlic and mushrooms and one for the beef. When I went to deglaze both pans, I used the cup of beef broth for one and the half cup of wine for the other. This way I didn't sacrifice any of the flavor because I had to cut the meat in half and use part mushrooms. Oh. Doi. I used beef broth instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I served it over mashed potatoes and the whole family loved it. I got a cheaper cut of pork meat and it still got so tender I could cut it with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
We really enjoyed this. I had no problem with the sauce not thickening. I served it over mashed potatoes. It's going in my comfort food "file" to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
We're still swooning over this recipe. In anticipation of making this today, I went out to get some rosemary and thyme. So glad I took the time! My only tweek was a spoonful of tomato paste, and I diced up store tomatoes. I used the very last of my home made chicken stock, so I started a new stock while making this fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a very flavorful pork dish. I added one additional ingredient which sealed in the seasoning while the meat was being seared and browned. I dipped the cubed shoulder pork into flour. Dusted off the excess and then braised the meat in the pan. I used two cans of chicken broth instead of 1 can. This thickened the sauce beautifully . The extra sauce was then poured over my cooked egg noodle pasta. I had some Romano drated cheese, added that to the pasta sauce. A beautiful dish filled with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Good recipe. I scrub carrots as nutrients are close to the skin and I prefered to use vegetable stock. Slight modification to suit me but recipe as written is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I haven't tried it yet. But surely you mean 1 pound of carrots, not just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States