Braised Pork Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Oh. Ma. Gawd. This was SO good. There were a couple of changes I made only because I'm really broke and have to use what I have. I used one pound of beef stew meat (pork was not on sale this week, but stew meat was) that I tenderized the heck out of and 8 oz. of quartered baby Bella mushrooms in place of the other pound of meat called for. When sauteing the onion, garlic and mushrooms together, I had to add a little butter in with the EVOO as the pan was a little dry with the added mushrooms. I served this with sour cream mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. Insane flavor. I can't wait to try this with pork. NOTE: I had to use two different pans to saute, one for the onions, garlic and mushrooms and one for the beef. When I went to deglaze both pans, I used the cup of beef broth for one and the half cup of wine for the other. This way I didn't sacrifice any of the flavor because I had to cut the meat in half and use part mushrooms. Oh. Doi. I used beef broth instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
We really enjoyed this. I had no problem with the sauce not thickening. I served it over mashed potatoes. It's going in my comfort food "file" to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
We're still swooning over this recipe. In anticipation of making this today, I went out to get some rosemary and thyme. So glad I took the time! My only tweek was a spoonful of tomato paste, and I diced up store tomatoes. I used the very last of my home made chicken stock, so I started a new stock while making this fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a very flavorful pork dish. I added one additional ingredient which sealed in the seasoning while the meat was being seared and browned. I dipped the cubed shoulder pork into flour. Dusted off the excess and then braised the meat in the pan. I used two cans of chicken broth instead of 1 can. This thickened the sauce beautifully . The extra sauce was then poured over my cooked egg noodle pasta. I had some Romano drated cheese, added that to the pasta sauce. A beautiful dish filled with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I served it over mashed potatoes and the whole family loved it. I got a cheaper cut of pork meat and it still got so tender I could cut it with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Delicious. Needed something to do with pork shoulder that was quick! This was perfect served over rotini with a little parmesan cheese and some vegetables on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanny420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is seriously delish!! I loved it, however mine did turn out kind of greasy, but that's totally my fault because I always fill the pan too full of oil. I didn't use any wine only chicken broth, and I only had one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes. I had mine up too high so my sauce thickened up nicely and actually almost dissapeared. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was so good...I didn't have any pork and used a chuck roast I cut up. It did take a bit longer than 30 minutes for it to thicken up, but well worth the wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyGirl214
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Delish! Made this last night for dinner and everyone went back for seconds. I decided to marinate the pork after I cubed it. I just put the spices and olive oil in a ziploc - toss in the pork - close it up - and shake with love! Put it in the fridge to marinate. The longer the better (don't forget to flip the bag every couple of hours). I made mashed potatoes, haricot verts, and rosemary roasted garlic bread. Wonderful comfort meal. Thanks so much. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Total comfort food. Just made this for dinner last night over yukon gold mashed potatoes with roasted garlic. YUM!!!! Reminds me very much of my osso bucco recipe that I make, only so much cheaper. This is definitely a restaurant worthy recipe. I seasoned the flour with salt, pepper, rosemary, and thyme before browning the pork cubes. Then added 2 Tablespoons of tomato paste once the vegetables were done being sauted. These steps made the sauce a perfect consistency. I also used a pork picnic and cut it into cubes and added the bone in while it cooked with a sprig of fresh rosemary and thyme. Cooked on a simmer for 2 hours because of the cut of pork. This will be a keeper for sure, Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States