Braised Pork Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lizzo84
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was tasty and filling- it went well with white rice. If I make it again I would add 3 or 4 carrots rather than just the 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Fabulous! Rich, delicious and can be served in a number of different ways (over mashed potatoes [if you omit the potatoes from the recipe], as the filling for a potpie, etc.). I used elk since I didn't have pork or beef and added a little more olive oil, red wine and water (I didn't have stock either) to compensate for the lack of fat in the meat, and although the consistency was more that of a roast than of a thicker sauce, it was still amazing. I didn't sautee anything either. I threw everything into the crockpot and went about my business. My husband loves it and asked if we can keep it in a regular meal rotation. #win
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn
Living In: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
As I never follow a recipe to the tee- here is some substitutions I made and STILL came out amazing! Along with rosemary and thyme I also threw in a few bay leaves. Instead of red I used white wine (dry) and chopped up some dill right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovefullofpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This was so good! Made it for my parents & sisters, hoping to have leftovers for another meal or two...well, that didn't happen! They ate it ALL! Needless to say, I will be making this again (&again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cloverdale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Like many reviewers suggested, I let it cook twice as long as the recipe states to get more of a ragu-like consistency. I also left out the rosemary as I didn't have any on hand. Otherwise, I followed the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was so good. I didn't have wine so I left it out. It was still great. I cooked it over low heat for much longer than stated. I wanted to have the work done early so i let it slowly reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Yummy! I used beef shoulder roast and beef broth. I didn't have a can of diced tomatoes, so I used fresh diced tomatoes and it worked just fine. I let the meat simmer, covered, for an hour longer than specified, and added a little water two times to ensure it didn't get dry. It was so tender and yummy! Served over Pioneer Woman's cream cheese mashed potatoes. Talk about comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe was fantastic. Easy, quick, & very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Blah. I added so much extra spice, but this really still had very little taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This recipe was very easy and super tastey as well! I served it over mashed potatoes with a roasted root vegetable side dish. There wasn't any problem with this recipe but I found the time needed to thicken the sauce and realy intensify the flavour, was closer to an hour. SO good, a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States