Braised Pork Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Average. Sorry. Unlike some reviewers I will not say "I adjusted this a nd that and I didn't like it after what I've done to your recipe". I cooked it exactly as suggested, and here's where 3 out of 5 comes from: 1. cooking time. way too short for ragou. Leave it to simmer for another 30 mins. 2. rosemary big no-no (ok, I suppose some ppl are gonna smack me here, but rosemary is for lamb only) 3. Do yourself a favor and use live, not canned tomatoes. Blanche them, peel the skin and dice. You will see the difference. Use meaty ones ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZatriX

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I haven't tried it yet. But surely you mean 1 pound of carrots, not just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Good recipe. I scrub carrots as nutrients are close to the skin and I prefered to use vegetable stock. Slight modification to suit me but recipe as written is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a very flavorful pork dish. I added one additional ingredient which sealed in the seasoning while the meat was being seared and browned. I dipped the cubed shoulder pork into flour. Dusted off the excess and then braised the meat in the pan. I used two cans of chicken broth instead of 1 can. This thickened the sauce beautifully . The extra sauce was then poured over my cooked egg noodle pasta. I had some Romano drated cheese, added that to the pasta sauce. A beautiful dish filled with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This is seriously delish!! I loved it, however mine did turn out kind of greasy, but that's totally my fault because I always fill the pan too full of oil. I didn't use any wine only chicken broth, and I only had one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes. I had mine up too high so my sauce thickened up nicely and actually almost dissapeared. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
We're still swooning over this recipe. In anticipation of making this today, I went out to get some rosemary and thyme. So glad I took the time! My only tweek was a spoonful of tomato paste, and I diced up store tomatoes. I used the very last of my home made chicken stock, so I started a new stock while making this fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
We really enjoyed this. I had no problem with the sauce not thickening. I served it over mashed potatoes. It's going in my comfort food "file" to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was so good...I didn't have any pork and used a chuck roast I cut up. It did take a bit longer than 30 minutes for it to thicken up, but well worth the wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Russell
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This took hours and hours for the sauce to reduce and thicken to be considered a ragu. Even after that it still lacked body. I added some tomato paste which helped a little, but on the whole I wasn't too impressed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States