Braised Pork Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Total comfort food. Just made this for dinner last night over yukon gold mashed potatoes with roasted garlic. YUM!!!! Reminds me very much of my osso bucco recipe that I make, only so much cheaper. This is definitely a restaurant worthy recipe. I seasoned the flour with salt, pepper, rosemary, and thyme before browning the pork cubes. Then added 2 Tablespoons of tomato paste once the vegetables were done being sauted. These steps made the sauce a perfect consistency. I also used a pork picnic and cut it into cubes and added the bone in while it cooked with a sprig of fresh rosemary and thyme. Cooked on a simmer for 2 hours because of the cut of pork. This will be a keeper for sure, Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I thought this recipe was great! I did have to add tomato paste to thicken up and I did let the pork cook for an hour as it was that much more tender. I served it over rigatone. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
LOVE IT! This was fantastic & is a keeper! Followed directions as written. Used Jargon Pinot Nior wine which added a great flavor, hate cooking wines! Thanks for sharing - can't wait for my mom's next visit so I can make this treat for her. She'll love it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I've been simmering the cubed pork shoulder for over an hour and still not tender. I may use a crockpot next time. Also, I did flour my pork as well and ths sauce has not thickened one bit. I guess I'm a bad cook or used the work type of pork. Any helpful hints?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Delish! Made this last night for dinner and everyone went back for seconds. I decided to marinate the pork after I cubed it. I just put the spices and olive oil in a ziploc - toss in the pork - close it up - and shake with love! Put it in the fridge to marinate. The longer the better (don't forget to flip the bag every couple of hours). I made mashed potatoes, haricot verts, and rosemary roasted garlic bread. Wonderful comfort meal. Thanks so much. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Very Yummy~!! My kids even loved this pork dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Average. Sorry. Unlike some reviewers I will not say "I adjusted this a nd that and I didn't like it after what I've done to your recipe". I cooked it exactly as suggested, and here's where 3 out of 5 comes from: 1. cooking time. way too short for ragou. Leave it to simmer for another 30 mins. 2. rosemary big no-no (ok, I suppose some ppl are gonna smack me here, but rosemary is for lamb only) 3. Do yourself a favor and use live, not canned tomatoes. Blanche them, peel the skin and dice. You will see the difference. Use meaty ones ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZatriX

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I haven't tried it yet. But surely you mean 1 pound of carrots, not just one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Good recipe. I scrub carrots as nutrients are close to the skin and I prefered to use vegetable stock. Slight modification to suit me but recipe as written is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a very flavorful pork dish. I added one additional ingredient which sealed in the seasoning while the meat was being seared and browned. I dipped the cubed shoulder pork into flour. Dusted off the excess and then braised the meat in the pan. I used two cans of chicken broth instead of 1 can. This thickened the sauce beautifully . The extra sauce was then poured over my cooked egg noodle pasta. I had some Romano drated cheese, added that to the pasta sauce. A beautiful dish filled with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States