Braised Pork Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was amazing! So much flavor and really easy. I cubed pork loin and simmered it all for 1 1/2 hours to ensure tenderness. Served over firm corkscrew pasta. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
We ended up having only 28oz of tomato sauce, and it ended up perfect! I'm not sure if it's still a 'ragu' but the sauce was thick after about 1hr+ of braising. It went great with parmasean garlic noodles. Next time we'll go with 15oz of sauce and 15oz of diced and see if having the tomatoes add even more to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great taste...easy to prepare for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This recipe is extremely addicting! My sauce also came out too thin, but I attribute this to all the liquid that came out of the pork when it was cooking. I used pork butt instead of shoulder, so maybe this was the reason? Anyway, I compensated by not adding the chicken broth (since I basically had homemade pork broth from the extra liquid!), as well as adding 2 tbsp of tomato paste and pre-mixed 2 tbsp cornstarch/2 tbsp water near the end. (You want to pre-mix with a small amount of water so that lumps don't form in the sauce.) The sauce thickened nicely and the ragu tasted excellent! I attribute a lot of that to the recommendation by the chef to serve on top of parmesan risotto. I also added basil to the risotto, and they both complemented the ragu well. My compliments to the chef - this is my new favorite comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly...not well received, used the leftovers to try to fix it...added sour cream, & it still needed something, I still haven't found what. Tried it over noodles & potatoes..everybody loved and ate the hot bread..and had deli snack later that evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I loved this recipe but the rest of my family didn't like the wine flavor. I served it over parmesan risotto like suggested and that is definitely what I will do next time as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesse862005

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was a restaurant-quality entree. I used pork tenderloin and did not have carrots. I served it over the Rosemary Parmesan Polenta on this site and it was truly fantastic. I will also try serving it with pasta, mashed potatoes or rice. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
quick and easy! Family loved it over potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
WOW! This is FANTASTIC! I changed a few things based upon what I had and needed to use up! Cubed Pork (was going to make schnitzel, SO glad I didn't), zucchini, celery and bell pepper. My husband really liked it but the HUGE thing was my two year old, I was worried that she was going to throw it but she dumped the bowl on her tray and ate it all up and said "more"! Definitely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wachoracho

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This dish was absolutely delicious! Everyone in my house loved it! The meat came out tender and flavorful. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States