Braised Pork Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
A definite keeper,but I used beef broth,fresh tomatoes,and mashed potatos.thankyou for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I made this for my daughter and her family when they came over. We did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was amazing! So much flavor and really easy. I cubed pork loin and simmered it all for 1 1/2 hours to ensure tenderness. Served over firm corkscrew pasta. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
We ended up having only 28oz of tomato sauce, and it ended up perfect! I'm not sure if it's still a 'ragu' but the sauce was thick after about 1hr+ of braising. It went great with parmasean garlic noodles. Next time we'll go with 15oz of sauce and 15oz of diced and see if having the tomatoes add even more to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great taste...easy to prepare for the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This recipe is extremely addicting! My sauce also came out too thin, but I attribute this to all the liquid that came out of the pork when it was cooking. I used pork butt instead of shoulder, so maybe this was the reason? Anyway, I compensated by not adding the chicken broth (since I basically had homemade pork broth from the extra liquid!), as well as adding 2 tbsp of tomato paste and pre-mixed 2 tbsp cornstarch/2 tbsp water near the end. (You want to pre-mix with a small amount of water so that lumps don't form in the sauce.) The sauce thickened nicely and the ragu tasted excellent! I attribute a lot of that to the recommendation by the chef to serve on top of parmesan risotto. I also added basil to the risotto, and they both complemented the ragu well. My compliments to the chef - this is my new favorite comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly...not well received, used the leftovers to try to fix it...added sour cream, & it still needed something, I still haven't found what. Tried it over noodles & potatoes..everybody loved and ate the hot bread..and had deli snack later that evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I loved this recipe but the rest of my family didn't like the wine flavor. I served it over parmesan risotto like suggested and that is definitely what I will do next time as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesse862005

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was a restaurant-quality entree. I used pork tenderloin and did not have carrots. I served it over the Rosemary Parmesan Polenta on this site and it was truly fantastic. I will also try serving it with pasta, mashed potatoes or rice. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
quick and easy! Family loved it over potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States