Braised Oxtails in Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Almost didn't make due to the prep effort before baking, but sooooooo glad I did! I think the BEST oxtail dish I've ever had. Didn't have/use celery so substituted roasted corn & okra. A MUST try if you like oxtail...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracyR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I've made this with a similar recipe . But, instead of thyme it called for oregano, I also used celery salt instead of celery root/stalk ,1 bottle of red wine , 1 cup of broth, no flour . But I suppose that is to thicken the fluid. It also called to season the oxtail with allspice , salt , and pepper over night or at least 2 hours marinating . Seared the oxtails before putting it in the liquid mixture. Placed everything in a Dutch oven & covered . My oxtails were cut so thick so I cooked it for 2 1/2 hours on 325 in the oven. Tastes heavenly. This is how I'm going to make it all the time .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mikemp2
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The dish is delicious and very simple. It takes some time but is totally worth it. The meat is moist and very flavorful. I served it two different was (both pictures posted). I served it with some thyme rice with a red pepper soup. I also served it shredded atop some sage gnocchi with broccoli and peas. Both dishes were delicious and is an easy way to impress without having to do too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Loved this, wife was gone so cooked this for myself and ate the whole thing. Can't go wrong with this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Five stars!!!!!!! One of the best braised dishes I ever had!,,,, And I cook!!!! Ny, queens, and sarasota Florida!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Love this recipe! I substituted beef shanks for the oxtails... they were more readily available and a lot cheaper. Not to mention was just as tender and delicious with a ton more (accessible)meat. The shanks actually turned out better for me than my oxtails did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Excellent! The same sauce recipe can be used for beef ribs or even stew meat. Very, very good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This took a long time to prepare -- we ended up eating it the following day. However, it was well worth it! This recipe is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was amazing. I basically followed the recipe but added mushrooms, potatoes, extra carrots, and peas toward the end. I cooked it in my le creuset pot for over 3 1/2 hours and the meat was falling off the bone. Rave reviews from my friends. Fantastic flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was very easy to do and it came out great. This is a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States