Braised Lemon Pheasant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Yes very nice. This person has got it right on how to cook Pheasant. I used more lemon and a touch of Merlot. Overall it's a very nice dish. I did use a Pheasant from the freezer and didn't take a photo. I have posted a few comments about Pheasant. However I did actually do it this way. It's good. It was browned as well and so didn't look anemic. Shallots would work too. Whole ones that would have fallen apart, just an idea.After completing the flavour left can be used for a sauce. By adding more Merlot, then reduce. I poured it away then thought I shouldn't have. Thicken with gravy granules and a teaspoon of redcurrant jelly. I will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this for a wild game dinner and it was a hit. My friends asked to take the leftovers home. Next time they came back they asked if I had any more. I did use chicken broth instead of beef and white wine instead of water. It came out perfect in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Talbot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was the 1st time I had pheasant and this was AWESOME! The lemon was a perfect touch. The only thing I did different was I used lemon pepper seasoning before dredging in flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Good stuff! I'd cut back on the salt next time, but otherwise, we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hector, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very simple and easy to follow! Pheasant came out tender and did not have that 'gamey' flavor. Next time, I would skip the flour, add 1/3 - 1/2 cup of lemon juice, and add straight broth (no water) and then it would be 5 stars .... otherwise great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very, very good! When my husband cleans pheasants, he does not leave them whole, so I had boneless pieces of pheasant. I don't think it really made a difference, other than it was a shorter cooking time. I followed the recipe as is, except I used chicken broth as that is what I had and sort of thought it would go better with the pheasant. This did not disappoint!! I cooked this in my cast-iron skillet and every last morsel was devoured. I'm always looking for new ways to try pheasant and this was certainly well worth the try; easy and delicious!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I made this recipe with either chukar, grouse or pheasant, I'm not sure which. I made one significant change. Instead of using beef broth I used some left over white wine. It was delicious! My children said it was the best recipe yet for the birds Dad brings home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! This was my first time cooking with pheasant, and I used 6 pheasant breasts instead of 2 whole. Increased the lemon juice to half cup, and used all beef broth instead of water. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
i was really scared to eat this since i had never had pheasant before. someone gave the bird to my husband, so i made him cook it!...anyway, it was pretty good. we used white wine and a little of the beef broth. we also added some diced bacon to the pan as the meat was simmering. the flavor came out very nice! i cant say that i will ever ask for pheasant again, but it didnt kill me like i thought it would : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Was in a last minute search for a new pheasant recipe. I was unfamiliar as to how to cook pheasant other than in the slower cooker. I had onions and mushrooms on hand so I sauteed those first in the butter. Then I added the garlic which I minced and crushed with fresh sage and lemon zest. Only had chicken stock on hand and it worked perfectly as a replacement. This was a FANTASTIC pheasant recipe. Absolutely delicious and great Fall weather comfort food. Can't wait to make it the next time exactly as the recipe calls. Although the more lemon juice, the better if you love lemon. Thanks so much bmatheson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseWren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States