Braised Lemon Pheasant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Excellent dish on a cold Fall day. I made only a few changes. I seasoned the pheasant with lemon pepper instead of just plain pepper. I also used 2 cups of beef broth and no water. The pheasant was very tender and moist. Hubby loved it too! Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Overall very good!!! Next time I make this dish I will increase the lemon juice to 1/2 cup. I used chicken broth instead of beef as that is what I had on hand. I will also use a little more garlic and pepper as well...but my husband and I loved it. Very tender with no gamey flavor...and it did NOT taste like chicken...much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this recipe the other night for my husband and I - he had gotten two pheasants that morning and it was wonderful! No gamey flavor at all - I used an entire fresh lemon and paired it with baby red garlic mashed potatoes. Great recipe - perfect for people just beginning with game recipes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Great and simple way to serve pheasant. Tastes good - no gamey flavor. Used about 1/3 cup of lemon juice (2 small lemons), 3 large cloves of garlic, and 1 1/2 cups of organic beef broth out of the box. Most of the liquid had evaporated after about 1 hour. Could maybe use more liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I am not a huge fan of pheasant but this is really good. Definately the best pheasant recipe I have come across. Meat was tender, not gamely, and had a nice lemon garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
FANTASTIC!!! My husband & I enjoyed it so much last night that I made it again tonight with chicken!!! I love lemons, so, I too, used a 1/2 cup lemon juice (actually, I used all the juice in one of those plastic lemons (you know the ones), which has a little bit more than a 1/2 cup. DELICIOUS over rice!!! I also love that it's so easy to prepare & I'm not stuck washing a million pots & pans after dinner. Will absolutely make again...maybe tomorrow...HA_HA!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
MY husbamd recieved pheasants from a friend. I was not sure how to make them. I used this recipe just like it is and will not be looking any further for another recipe. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Pheasant is a very gamey meat, and this recipe definitely helped counter that. Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Wow, this recipe really tastes great. I can't rave enough about it! I did as other people advised and added 1/2 cup lemon juice to the batch and it came out splendid. There was no game taste or leftovers! A definite repeat in our household with pheasant or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Turned out great I used Lemon Pepper and Chicken Broth. Also Toward the end of the hour cooking I turned the heat up and let the juice cook off and thicken once all the juice was gone and the meat browned more I turned the heat off and served
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Union, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States