Braised Lemon Pheasant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Excellent dish on a cold Fall day. I made only a few changes. I seasoned the pheasant with lemon pepper instead of just plain pepper. I also used 2 cups of beef broth and no water. The pheasant was very tender and moist. Hubby loved it too! Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Overall very good!!! Next time I make this dish I will increase the lemon juice to 1/2 cup. I used chicken broth instead of beef as that is what I had on hand. I will also use a little more garlic and pepper as well...but my husband and I loved it. Very tender with no gamey flavor...and it did NOT taste like chicken...much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Great and simple way to serve pheasant. Tastes good - no gamey flavor. Used about 1/3 cup of lemon juice (2 small lemons), 3 large cloves of garlic, and 1 1/2 cups of organic beef broth out of the box. Most of the liquid had evaporated after about 1 hour. Could maybe use more liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I am not a huge fan of pheasant but this is really good. Definately the best pheasant recipe I have come across. Meat was tender, not gamely, and had a nice lemon garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this recipe the other night for my husband and I - he had gotten two pheasants that morning and it was wonderful! No gamey flavor at all - I used an entire fresh lemon and paired it with baby red garlic mashed potatoes. Great recipe - perfect for people just beginning with game recipes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WISEREADER
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was magnificent. I prepared the full recipe of the liquid (using 1/2 cup lemon juice) but for 1 pheasant. I also added about 1 tsp rosemary and used 2 garlic cloves. The sauce made great gravy once cooked down and thickened with a little corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Turned out great I used Lemon Pepper and Chicken Broth. Also Toward the end of the hour cooking I turned the heat up and let the juice cook off and thicken once all the juice was gone and the meat browned more I turned the heat off and served
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Union, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
i was really scared to eat this since i had never had pheasant before. someone gave the bird to my husband, so i made him cook it!...anyway, it was pretty good. we used white wine and a little of the beef broth. we also added some diced bacon to the pan as the meat was simmering. the flavor came out very nice! i cant say that i will ever ask for pheasant again, but it didnt kill me like i thought it would : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
WONDERFUL!!! I seasoned the pheasant with salt & lemon pepper and added just a bit more lemon juice. I also simmered "uncovered" for last 30 minutes to allow juices to thicken into a sauce. Served over egg noodles. A great recipe & the boys told me I have to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Genoa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Wow, this recipe really tastes great. I can't rave enough about it! I did as other people advised and added 1/2 cup lemon juice to the batch and it came out splendid. There was no game taste or leftovers! A definite repeat in our household with pheasant or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States