Braised Lemon Pheasant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Excellent dish on a cold Fall day. I made only a few changes. I seasoned the pheasant with lemon pepper instead of just plain pepper. I also used 2 cups of beef broth and no water. The pheasant was very tender and moist. Hubby loved it too! Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Overall very good!!! Next time I make this dish I will increase the lemon juice to 1/2 cup. I used chicken broth instead of beef as that is what I had on hand. I will also use a little more garlic and pepper as well...but my husband and I loved it. Very tender with no gamey flavor...and it did NOT taste like chicken...much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Great and simple way to serve pheasant. Tastes good - no gamey flavor. Used about 1/3 cup of lemon juice (2 small lemons), 3 large cloves of garlic, and 1 1/2 cups of organic beef broth out of the box. Most of the liquid had evaporated after about 1 hour. Could maybe use more liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I am not a huge fan of pheasant but this is really good. Definately the best pheasant recipe I have come across. Meat was tender, not gamely, and had a nice lemon garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this recipe the other night for my husband and I - he had gotten two pheasants that morning and it was wonderful! No gamey flavor at all - I used an entire fresh lemon and paired it with baby red garlic mashed potatoes. Great recipe - perfect for people just beginning with game recipes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WISEREADER
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was magnificent. I prepared the full recipe of the liquid (using 1/2 cup lemon juice) but for 1 pheasant. I also added about 1 tsp rosemary and used 2 garlic cloves. The sauce made great gravy once cooked down and thickened with a little corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Turned out great I used Lemon Pepper and Chicken Broth. Also Toward the end of the hour cooking I turned the heat up and let the juice cook off and thicken once all the juice was gone and the meat browned more I turned the heat off and served
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Union, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
i was really scared to eat this since i had never had pheasant before. someone gave the bird to my husband, so i made him cook it!...anyway, it was pretty good. we used white wine and a little of the beef broth. we also added some diced bacon to the pan as the meat was simmering. the flavor came out very nice! i cant say that i will ever ask for pheasant again, but it didnt kill me like i thought it would : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
WONDERFUL!!! I seasoned the pheasant with salt & lemon pepper and added just a bit more lemon juice. I also simmered "uncovered" for last 30 minutes to allow juices to thicken into a sauce. Served over egg noodles. A great recipe & the boys told me I have to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Genoa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Wow, this recipe really tastes great. I can't rave enough about it! I did as other people advised and added 1/2 cup lemon juice to the batch and it came out splendid. There was no game taste or leftovers! A definite repeat in our household with pheasant or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States