Braised Lemon Pheasant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Overall very good!!! Next time I make this dish I will increase the lemon juice to 1/2 cup. I used chicken broth instead of beef as that is what I had on hand. I will also use a little more garlic and pepper as well...but my husband and I loved it. Very tender with no gamey flavor...and it did NOT taste like chicken...much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this recipe the other night for my husband and I - he had gotten two pheasants that morning and it was wonderful! No gamey flavor at all - I used an entire fresh lemon and paired it with baby red garlic mashed potatoes. Great recipe - perfect for people just beginning with game recipes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Great and simple way to serve pheasant. Tastes good - no gamey flavor. Used about 1/3 cup of lemon juice (2 small lemons), 3 large cloves of garlic, and 1 1/2 cups of organic beef broth out of the box. Most of the liquid had evaporated after about 1 hour. Could maybe use more liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I am not a huge fan of pheasant but this is really good. Definately the best pheasant recipe I have come across. Meat was tender, not gamely, and had a nice lemon garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
FANTASTIC!!! My husband & I enjoyed it so much last night that I made it again tonight with chicken!!! I love lemons, so, I too, used a 1/2 cup lemon juice (actually, I used all the juice in one of those plastic lemons (you know the ones), which has a little bit more than a 1/2 cup. DELICIOUS over rice!!! I also love that it's so easy to prepare & I'm not stuck washing a million pots & pans after dinner. Will absolutely make again...maybe tomorrow...HA_HA!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I made this for my husband (I don't do pheasant) and he said it would get 4 stars because "It was good."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdoos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
MY husbamd recieved pheasants from a friend. I was not sure how to make them. I used this recipe just like it is and will not be looking any further for another recipe. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
excellent recipe! it's really nice to have an alternative way with pheasant. I took everyone's advice & added extra lemon juice, and I also included extra garlic (my usual). can't wait to try this with chicken, as suggested by another commenter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I enjoyed the recipe quite a bit. It was easy to make--next time I might try the crockpot. I made a rice pilaf to serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States