Braised Leeks and Mustard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Took a chance on a recipe with only 2 reviews because I had leeks and kale to use up. These are GOOD. They look appetizing when cooked and have a lightly sweet (from the carmelized leeks), lightly salty, and very flavorful taste. I liked them, my husband liked them, and most of my kids liked them. The recipe was ridiculously simple and fast and has a lot of nutrition. I will definitely make this as an easy, healthy side dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Quick and excellent side dish. I didn't have any mustard greens either, so I added actual mustard to the chicken broth. I think next time I would add more, like 2 Tbs. It was great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
My husband and I LOVE this dish! I always use kale and usually about a full cup of chicken consomme. I also give it a sprinkle of lemon juice after it's cooked which really brings it to life. It cooks quickly, but preparing the kale and leeks is actually pretty time consuming. UPDATE/SIDE NOTE: adding citrus (like lemon or lime juice) to your greens helps your body absorb the nutrients. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Yummy! I did do some of the suggestions in the some of the other review - I added chopped garlic and a partially drained can of butter beans - and this will be a staple for my household. Tabasco sauce brings the flavors out nicely. The bonus is that this is a user-friendly recipe... Quick and simple! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by serenemom4
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This turned out great! I had a can of seasoned greens so I used those instead of fresh greens and chicken broth. I had two 5oz ribeye steaks so I broiled them, sliced them up and topped 4 plates of greens with the meat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Love Love Love!!!!! This will be a regular at our table. We use WAY more parm cheese on each serving (or parm/asiago mix) and I always add fresh minced garlic (multiple cloves). We've played with proportions at times, due to having more greens and less leeks in the fridge - it has always turns out great. Thank you so much Gardener98 for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
this turned out great. i actually couldn't find mustard greens so i substituted with kale and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
this was really good and very easy. love mustard greens but never though to put with leeks. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadrag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Fan-freakin-tastic! I've never cooked leeks before and never even eaten mustard greens and this was great! I've absolutely love it and have a new favorite veggie dish :) Also, I used just a small amount of virgin olive oil (maybe a teaspoon) in place of butter. Holy moly it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I thought this was excellent, and SO quick and easy. The butter/broth/leeks combo worked really well with the greens, which ended up having a really nice texture. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States