Braised Leeks and Mustard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
this was really good and very easy. love mustard greens but never though to put with leeks. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadrag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Love Love Love!!!!! This will be a regular at our table. We use WAY more parm cheese on each serving (or parm/asiago mix) and I always add fresh minced garlic (multiple cloves). We've played with proportions at times, due to having more greens and less leeks in the fridge - it has always turns out great. Thank you so much Gardener98 for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Fan-freakin-tastic! I've never cooked leeks before and never even eaten mustard greens and this was great! I've absolutely love it and have a new favorite veggie dish :) Also, I used just a small amount of virgin olive oil (maybe a teaspoon) in place of butter. Holy moly it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of greens but I'm trying to eat healthier. This recipe helped me cook them but adding Thai Garlic Chili sauce as a condiment made this seriously good. I'm happily chowing down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
My husband and I LOVE this dish! I always use kale and usually about a full cup of chicken consomme. I also give it a sprinkle of lemon juice after it's cooked which really brings it to life. It cooks quickly, but preparing the kale and leeks is actually pretty time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
My first ever attempt at leeks or mustard greens and I enjoyed how it turned out. The greens have a very distinct flavor that the leeks mellow. If you like greens, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rowangrey
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Delicious, and super easy to make! The only hitch I had with this recipe was that I thought the ratio of leeks to greens was way off. The leeks I bought were pretty big (maybe 6" long after trimming, and 1.5" in diameter) and even three would have been, I thought, way too many. I ended up halving the amount of leeks, and doubling the mustard greens. I omitted the Parmesan (personal taste) and only gave the greens a tiny sprinkle of salt. They were amazingly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Yummy! I did do some of the suggestions in the some of the other review - I added chopped garlic and a partially drained can of butter beans - and this will be a staple for my household. Tabasco sauce brings the flavors out nicely. The bonus is that this is a user-friendly recipe... Quick and simple! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Yes, it was very good. I added 2 fresh cloves of garlic, 6 oz of organic chicken broth and then a can of drained butter beans. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I thought this was excellent, and SO quick and easy. The butter/broth/leeks combo worked really well with the greens, which ended up having a really nice texture. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States