Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was very good. We did add a little brown sugar to the sauce after we removed the meat and thickened it with corn starch to go over our polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This is so fantastic!! I loved not having to brown the shanks. I used about half the balsamic vinegar but would not change a thing otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissie Brooks
Photo by Matt
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was really good, and really easy! I didn't have tomatoes so I used tomatoe sauce and it still came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I thought the sauce was too sour with all the basalmic vinegar, lemons and red wine. I'd cut way back on the vinegar, and probably leave out the lemons the next time. Meat was great however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Made a wonderful valentines dinner! Based on other reviews I cut back on the balsamic vinegar. Served it with soft polenta - perfect match! I have set this recipe aside to use with company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is a great recipe! A little brown sugar will also cut down the sourness. I found that this worked really well in a crock pot as well as the oven. I've also used diced leeks and zucchini on the bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
As good as any I've had. All a shank should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
If you like lamb, this was an AMAZING dish.. I strongly recommend that you make this! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aulie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This dish was fabulous, I didn't change a thing. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender, and the lemon and balsamic gave it a great tang. I am definitely serving this next time my in-laws are down, you pop it in the oven and forget about it until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Unfortunately i only read the first few reviews and not the last ones that commented about too much vinegar! I have tried to add honey, brown sugar, beef stock but its still too vinegary for me sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States