Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I made this recipe last night, the lamb was definently tender but I thought the quantity of wine, oil, and balsalmic vinger was a bit too much! It gave a bitter tasting sauce. Other than that it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made recipe exactly as written and while the meat was certainly tender, the sauce was overpowering, the lemon rinds an unpleasant surprise and there was an overwhelming amount of collected grease. The method is worth experimenting with, but these ingredients in these amounts did not culminate in a pleasing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONHALEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Awesome, and soooo easy! used half of the balsamic and lots of garlic. making it again this weekend. Try it - you'll be amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I continue to be surprised at how good this recipe turns out. Certainly a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I cooked it in the crock pot for 24 hours. It was very tender and delicious but if I did it again I would use maybe 2 lemon wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was EXCELLENT!!! Add vinegar to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I made this dish for my husband, closest friend and her daughter. It was so good they wanted MORE!!! I give this an A++++ and am even thinking of this for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swarthmore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I made this with chevon (goat) shanks, which are a lot like lamb. Very tasty! The meat was tender and the tangy flavor is great with mild-tasting meat like lamb or goat. I did reduce the balsamic vinegar by half, and it was still tangy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
The taste of this was better than I thought it would be. I am also going to try with beef short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
A really tasty recipe - my husband and I prepared this together. We did halve the balsamic vinegar as others suggested, and used diced tomatoes with herbs and spices - it's all we had in the cupboard. The meat was tender and fell off the bone. We served it with cous cous (cooked in chicken broth and then added chopped tomatoes, green onions, 1 clove of garlic, and 1 tbsp. each of olive oil, fresh parsley and lemon juice). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States