Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Easy and delicious! I actually forgot the olive oil completely and since they turned out so tasty, I don't know that I would even add it in the future or at least I would reduce it to a couple tablespoons to save on some fat and calories. The meat provides enough fat on its own as it braises. Also, I had never made lamb shank before, so I looked up how to trim them before cooking and I think the best method is to leave the membrane on the shanks as they cook....trim the fat only. Without the membrane, all the meat will fall off the bone which makes serving a bit difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very tasty! I followed the advice of others and cut down the amount of balsamic vinegar. Meat was very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I halved the lemon and balsamic vinegar, we still thought it tasted too "lemony" and acidic. Next time, I will try without the lemon and but will keep half the vinegar. Other than that, it is delicious. I added some green pepper and carrots to the dish and served it with roasted red potatoes and brussell sprouts, everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Keep it the way it is, but add palm sugar, better than brown
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baby Potsticker
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was good. I used fresh tomatoes from my garden instead of canned. I didn't have lemon so I added a small amount of lemon juice. Only complaint I have is I think Im not a fan of lamb shank. Ive bought lamb blades at the store before and I prefer those instead. Will make this again with lamb blades.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was absolutely great. I was a bit nervous because I am generally not a fan of Lamb but WOW...I definitely will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Very tasty. I just used half the amount of balsamic vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I made this recipe last night, the lamb was definently tender but I thought the quantity of wine, oil, and balsalmic vinger was a bit too much! It gave a bitter tasting sauce. Other than that it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made recipe exactly as written and while the meat was certainly tender, the sauce was overpowering, the lemon rinds an unpleasant surprise and there was an overwhelming amount of collected grease. The method is worth experimenting with, but these ingredients in these amounts did not culminate in a pleasing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONHALEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Awesome, and soooo easy! used half of the balsamic and lots of garlic. making it again this weekend. Try it - you'll be amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States