Braised Italian Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Hearty, tasty and relatively easy. I subbed kale for the chard, and I suspect any dark leaf would work. And I doubled the salt and Italian seasoning after a first try came out a little blander than my taste buds prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
So flavorful! I love that this is loaded with veggies! I had gotten mushrooms, parsnips, swiss chard, and onions in a produce delivery and had carrots and celery on hand so I was looking for a recipe to use as much of the produce that I could. This turned out perfect. It's definitely going into my "make again" pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Wow what a great stew. It was fast and easy to make and it hit the spot. I am going to use this for a base and tweak it a bit. But is is good just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I read the reviews about the "different" flavor this stew had and since I do not like fennel or Italian sausage, I changed the meat to Kilbasa and we all loved it! Like other reviews I added a bit more barley and extra mushrooms, cause I love them. I also added an extra cup of water to balance out the extra barley. Thanks for a great stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Petrucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
My family loved this dish. Because I know I have a picky eater in our family I did change the parsnip to potato. I also added more seasoning than asked for, I added fresh garlic, basil and dried oregano. I will make this again and will consider making for company, it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliachildren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Microshrimp
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written. I didn't add, omit, or substitute anything, and I used an enameled dutch oven. Overall the stew turned out really well. The vegetables come out al dente after one hour of cooking. It was definitely very different from the types of things I have been cooking lately. We enjoyed eating it and will save the leftovers for later, but I doubt it will become something I make frequently; perhaps when in the mood for something unusual. One reviewer said it "kind of tastes funny," and I can see why someone might say that. This stew definitely has a sharp note that might be a little too much to some people. I thought about it and narrowed it down to 3-4 things. The reviewer suspected the parsnips. They definitely do add a unique flavor to the dish. Second, the sausage itself has various spices in it, the most noticeable being fennel which stands out in the dish. Third, the tomatoes and their juice give the dish an acidic bite that became somewhat taxing by the end of the meal. There are so many similar tomato products at the store, did I pick the right kind? I did my best and used a 28oz can of "plum tomatoes in juice" so I think I got it right. Might be interesting to drain the juice next time and substitute with more chicken stock (or water). Fourth, the wine? One last note, and this is my fault for being a novice: I wish the recipe had said to peel the parsnips. This was my first time cooking with parsnips and I didn't know that. I do now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mclifford973
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This turned out great. I did use fresh spinach in place of the swiss chard. A versatile dish with good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mclifford973

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Yum~~~ I mean yum~~~~ I added 2 cloves of garlic and didn't have Swiss chard so I used the cabbage instead from my fridge. Instead of Italian sausage links, I had some left over turkey sausages and ham, so I threw both of them in there. Oh my my my~~ Seriously? Sooo good! Will make again and again! Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Yum.. used a mix of chard, kale and spinach and rice instead of barley.. delicious, easy filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
My whole family loved this one. I made some substitutions to use what I had on hand (Yukon gold potatoes for the parsnips and fresh spinach for the swiss chard) but followed as directed otherwise. I loved the addition of barley which acts as a thickener and gives the stew a nice consistency. Comforting, hearty, and wholesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States