Braised Italian Sausage Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This turned out excellent, on my first try making it too. Made it for company we had over and it was a big hit with everyone. I did add a few extra things like zucchini and corn. Then made some garlic noodles and ate it over the top of those. It was great and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Great recipe. My grocery store didn't have any Swiss Chard, so I used Nappa Cabbage instead. All the different flavors blended extreamly well. Quite easy to put together. We enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Delicious great for when you have guest over or if your feeling under the weather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinitwinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is a very pleasnant recipe that, in this house, would qualify as a comfort food. The only tweak I made was to add 1/2 cup more barley. ... By substituting vegetable broth for the chicken broth, and eliminating the meat, this would be an excellent vegetarian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Photo by seagrapesmoothei
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This was fantastic. I made a couple of alterations, but nothing too insane. I did not have chicken stock, so I used beef boullion and it gave it a really nice richness. I added a lot more of the dry white wine and doubled the seasoning. I used turnip greens instead of the swiss chard and their mild bitterness added a very subtle note. And I doubled all of the veggies and added a whole bag of barley, and it came out ridiculously delicious. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seagrapesmoothei

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Kind of taste funny.... maybe the parsnips? I don't know... not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
My whole family loved this one. I made some substitutions to use what I had on hand (Yukon gold potatoes for the parsnips and fresh spinach for the swiss chard) but followed as directed otherwise. I loved the addition of barley which acts as a thickener and gives the stew a nice consistency. Comforting, hearty, and wholesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Yum.. used a mix of chard, kale and spinach and rice instead of barley.. delicious, easy filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Yum~~~ I mean yum~~~~ I added 2 cloves of garlic and didn't have Swiss chard so I used the cabbage instead from my fridge. Instead of Italian sausage links, I had some left over turkey sausages and ham, so I threw both of them in there. Oh my my my~~ Seriously? Sooo good! Will make again and again! Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Mclifford973
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This turned out great. I did use fresh spinach in place of the swiss chard. A versatile dish with good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mclifford973

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States