Braised Green Beans with Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Delicious! I used frozen green beans vs. fresh with no issues. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I thought this was great. The sauce has a really bright, tangy taste too it. I would agree to wait to put the tomatoes in until last. My husband would only give it a four, but he doesn't like stir-fry in general. he said that for stir-fry, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
even with the modifications i had to make due to what i had on hand (1/2 c. cooking sherry and 1 c. veg broth, plus i added carrots since i didn't have bamboo) this was GREAT! my husband and i both loved it and i will definitely make it again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
A surprisingly hearty recipe that would be good for a cold winter night as it is so easy and satisfying! I added a little garlic and chili pepper for an extra kick, and omitted the cornstarch, letting the tofu simmer in the sauce. The only other suggestion I have would be to put off adding the tomatoes until the last minute or they turn to mush. This makes great leftovers too. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
So easy and versatile! The sauce is delicious. I've always wondered how to cook up tofu like that - awesome! (I freeze my tofu first, too - it makes it easier to get the liquid out and helps the texture.) I substituted mushrooms and green peppers for the green beans, and canned fire roasted tomatoes (Muir Glen) for the fresh ones. I also did my typical swapping out of the broth for a few tablespoons of nutritional yeast. Makes it vegan and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
soooooooo good. The sauce is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was amazing! Yes the tomato cooked down, but the sauce tasted 10x better with tomato cooked in. Before, it tasted too much like white wine. At the end, I threw in some slices of tomato and put it over a low heat so the tomato could soften. I also added mushrooms, garlic and chili flakes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
We LOVED this recipe - even my picky boyfriend liked it. I didn't have cornstarch or bamboo - so I substituted flour and mushrooms respectively. I would definitely recommend rice, since the sauce is so good. We dirtied a lot of pans, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Loved this. Simple. Flexible - many different veggies can be used. Tasty. My vegetarian family loved this - even the baby! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
yum! Even my kids who "don't like tofu" liked this. I didn't have any white wine on hand so I just subbed water for that, and it was still very tasty. I will definitely make this again - served over brown rice (I omitted the rice and used splenda instead of sugar for a very tasty low carb dinner). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States