Braised Green Beans with Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This is a very tasty dish. I did make some changes. i did not coat the tofu in cornstarch and deep fry it. I used just enough oil to brown the sides to cut down on the fat. I also added some carrots and they were a nice touch. The only other thing I will change next time is to add the tofu to the sauce sooner so that the sauce will soak into the tofu more. I might also add baby corn because my husband and I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
A surprisingly hearty recipe that would be good for a cold winter night as it is so easy and satisfying! I added a little garlic and chili pepper for an extra kick, and omitted the cornstarch, letting the tofu simmer in the sauce. The only other suggestion I have would be to put off adding the tomatoes until the last minute or they turn to mush. This makes great leftovers too. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was amazing! Yes the tomato cooked down, but the sauce tasted 10x better with tomato cooked in. Before, it tasted too much like white wine. At the end, I threw in some slices of tomato and put it over a low heat so the tomato could soften. I also added mushrooms, garlic and chili flakes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Delicious! I used frozen green beans vs. fresh with no issues. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Absolutely delicious-I had to double the recipe though. My kids LOVE tofu! This was even better than most dishes you get in a restaurant. My teenage son is looking forward to cooking this himself very soon. Thanks so much for posting-this has become a family favorite. Soooo goood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
even with the modifications i had to make due to what i had on hand (1/2 c. cooking sherry and 1 c. veg broth, plus i added carrots since i didn't have bamboo) this was GREAT! my husband and i both loved it and i will definitely make it again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I skipped deep-frying the tofu and mixed it into the sauce (I used silken tofu for softness,) served it over black rice and it turned out great! My family isn't used to eating tofu, so they weren't sure about it at first, but they cleaned their bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I thought this was great. The sauce has a really bright, tangy taste too it. I would agree to wait to put the tomatoes in until last. My husband would only give it a four, but he doesn't like stir-fry in general. he said that for stir-fry, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
yum! Even my kids who "don't like tofu" liked this. I didn't have any white wine on hand so I just subbed water for that, and it was still very tasty. I will definitely make this again - served over brown rice (I omitted the rice and used splenda instead of sugar for a very tasty low carb dinner). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was pretty good. I cooked the tofu in a little bit of oil instead of deep frying it. And poured the dish over soba noodles instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States