Braised Green Beans with Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Delicious! I used frozen green beans vs. fresh with no issues. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
A surprisingly hearty recipe that would be good for a cold winter night as it is so easy and satisfying! I added a little garlic and chili pepper for an extra kick, and omitted the cornstarch, letting the tofu simmer in the sauce. The only other suggestion I have would be to put off adding the tomatoes until the last minute or they turn to mush. This makes great leftovers too. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Taste was good and everybody liked it, especially the tofu. Not sure if I will make it again though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I thought this was great. The sauce has a really bright, tangy taste too it. I would agree to wait to put the tomatoes in until last. My husband would only give it a four, but he doesn't like stir-fry in general. he said that for stir-fry, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This is a very tasty dish. I did make some changes. i did not coat the tofu in cornstarch and deep fry it. I used just enough oil to brown the sides to cut down on the fat. I also added some carrots and they were a nice touch. The only other thing I will change next time is to add the tofu to the sauce sooner so that the sauce will soak into the tofu more. I might also add baby corn because my husband and I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
We LOVED this recipe - even my picky boyfriend liked it. I didn't have cornstarch or bamboo - so I substituted flour and mushrooms respectively. I would definitely recommend rice, since the sauce is so good. We dirtied a lot of pans, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
even with the modifications i had to make due to what i had on hand (1/2 c. cooking sherry and 1 c. veg broth, plus i added carrots since i didn't have bamboo) this was GREAT! my husband and i both loved it and i will definitely make it again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Pretty good recipe! I would have given 5 stars if the original recipe had more spice to it, so we fried the tofu in some curry to spice it up a bit. We also added carrots and tri-colored green beans. We used chardonnay in our sauce as well, and put the dish over rice. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B and V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
turned out pretty good. We used sake, instead of white wine (is that sacrilege when the recipe is Vietnamese?), definitely left the tomatoes out until the end, no cornstarch, and we julienned the onions for texture. Didn't try it, but thought it would have gone really well with soba noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
soooooooo good. The sauce is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States