Braised Green Beans with Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I skipped deep-frying the tofu and mixed it into the sauce (I used silken tofu for softness,) served it over black rice and it turned out great! My family isn't used to eating tofu, so they weren't sure about it at first, but they cleaned their bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was amazing! Yes the tomato cooked down, but the sauce tasted 10x better with tomato cooked in. Before, it tasted too much like white wine. At the end, I threw in some slices of tomato and put it over a low heat so the tomato could soften. I also added mushrooms, garlic and chili flakes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Great flavor, not spicy. Could substitute asparagus and I think it might be a five star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very tasty recipe. I prepared this dish for my mom and she is not a tofu eater at all and was looking at me rather crazy when I was cooking it. However, she ended up eating a full plate (she still never admitted that she really liked it - but her plate was empty!) I definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFAOHJENNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
So easy and versatile! The sauce is delicious. I've always wondered how to cook up tofu like that - awesome! (I freeze my tofu first, too - it makes it easier to get the liquid out and helps the texture.) I substituted mushrooms and green peppers for the green beans, and canned fire roasted tomatoes (Muir Glen) for the fresh ones. I also did my typical swapping out of the broth for a few tablespoons of nutritional yeast. Makes it vegan and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
soooooooo good. The sauce is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
turned out pretty good. We used sake, instead of white wine (is that sacrilege when the recipe is Vietnamese?), definitely left the tomatoes out until the end, no cornstarch, and we julienned the onions for texture. Didn't try it, but thought it would have gone really well with soba noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Pretty good recipe! I would have given 5 stars if the original recipe had more spice to it, so we fried the tofu in some curry to spice it up a bit. We also added carrots and tri-colored green beans. We used chardonnay in our sauce as well, and put the dish over rice. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B and V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
even with the modifications i had to make due to what i had on hand (1/2 c. cooking sherry and 1 c. veg broth, plus i added carrots since i didn't have bamboo) this was GREAT! my husband and i both loved it and i will definitely make it again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
We LOVED this recipe - even my picky boyfriend liked it. I didn't have cornstarch or bamboo - so I substituted flour and mushrooms respectively. I would definitely recommend rice, since the sauce is so good. We dirtied a lot of pans, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States