Braised Corned Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
It was a good recipe but I wouldn't recommend browning it first in a frying pan then putting it in the oven. Done this way the top came out crunchy (ok if you like crunchy) but overall this is a great recipe. Definitely will do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
OMG!!! as my kids would say, this dish was AWESOME! Corned beef has never been on the top of the list for my family but I found one on sale and thought I'd give it one more try. I'm glad I tried your recipe, I usually braise my chuck roast never tried corned beef, glad I did. The flavor was outstanding and oh so tender!! Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
No pot, so seared it in the oven. No rack, just laid it in the pan. No time, so did 350 degrees for 4 hours. Still perfect and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
By far, the best recipe I've found for corned beef. Personally, I prefer to use a point cut brisket over a flat because it has more fat and gives the Browning sauce more to work with. I also make my own browning sauce (food.com has an easy recipe that works great) instead of using Kitchen Bouquet. This recipe has become a family favorite at our house. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This was so delicious. I didn't have any garlic on hand so I used garlic powder and it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICNJACK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
We both loved this so much! I triple wrapped and placed the brisket on a rack but instead of water I used a bottle of beer. Served with Diane's Colcannon by DianeF. Thank you for such a great recipe mauigirl! Will definitely have this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Hey, YOU! Yeah, YOU looking for the PERFECT recipe for corned beef! You can STOP RIGHT HERE!! Click no further, my friend! Make it exactly as written, and you'll be in corned beef heaven. We tried this recipe side-by-side with the highest rated crock pot recipe, and this blew the boiled variety out of the water! No joke!!! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was great. Don't waste your time boiling again. It's easy, low mess and very foolproof. That makes this a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Wow! I will never boil again. I had been looking for a crock pot recipe when I stumbled on this recipe, and thought I would try something new. I kept reading the recipe over again because it seemed too simple. After browning with the Kitchen Bouquet, I deglazed the pan with about 1/2 can of beer I had in the fridge from another recipe. I wrapped the brisket in foil, leaving a small opening in the top to vent. I poured some of the juices over the onion and garlic topped fat side; and poured the rest over a pan of raw carrots for later baking. I then loosely wrapped another piece of foil over the top of the brisket. Baked at 250 for 5 hours, putting the carrots in for the last hour. It smelled delicious baking and the beef sliced up tender and juicy after resting for about 10 minutes. I made Diane's Colcannon (without the cabbage, didn't have on hand) as a perfect side to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
mauigirl - this is the BEST corned beef that I have ever prepared! It was so moist and tender and the flavor was incredible. I sliced and froze the leftovers, and have 2 more corned beefs in the freezer to make this again. I served it with 'Cream Cheese Colcannon' 'Buttermilk Slaw' and 'Irresistible Irish Soda Bread' all AR recipes. Everything was delicious, but the meat stole the show. Thanks for submitting your method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States