Braised Corned Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Wow! This came out really good. I was a little skepticle ..but I followed the recipe and I must say this is a new way for me to cook corned beef. I had to use my cast iron grill pan and it worked like a charm. Mauigirl thanks for the recipe...great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Hands down, THE BEST corned beef that I have ever made or eaten, and everyone agreed! I have to Thanks Baking Nana for her help on the Buzz, letting me know how to make this in an electric roaster...After searing the beef, I put it into a triple layer of heavy duty foil, topped it w/ the onions and garlic slices, and wrapped it tightly. I placed it on the rack in the roaster and cooked it for 6 hours on 250 degrees....moist, tender perfection! Even the corned beef haters raved over this! I was hoping to have enough leftovers for dinner tonight, but it was all gone :( This is definitely a 10+ star recipe! This will be the only way I will ever prepare a corned beef brisket again. Mauigirl, Thank You so much for sharing this WONDERFUL recipe, and again, Baking Nana for all your cooking help...I was a rock star w/ this recipe~YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Very delish recipe. I've never made a corned beef with this technique before. And it turned out soo well. I followed threw with braising and then utlizing my crockpot to bake in, only for the simple fact, I needed to bake other things at a higher temp then this recipe in my oven and didn't want to complicate matters. The crockpot worked out very well. The only thing I did slightly different and it wasn't really much. After braising the meat in the pan on the cooktop, I took the water and deglazed the pan and then added that deglazed mixture to the crock pot over the corned beef and followed threw with the rest of the directions. Added a head of cabbage during the last hour and a half, it was very flavorful. My beef was extra tender and was falling apart ;-) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Awesome recipe - Easy and so delicious! Thank you Mauigirl. This is a keeper for sure. After searing I placed the corned beef on a rack above the little bit of water - followed the instructions as stated - the wonderful aroma of this braising was not to be believed. I offered to set some aside for my daughter to take home to her corned beef hating husband and he absolutely loved it. I will have to make more tomorrow. Thank you! UPDATE I made this again last night. I got a really nice flat cut corned beef at Costco - very lean. I used about a tablespoon of the browning sauce. I triple wrapped the corned beef in heavy aluminium foil on a baking sheet. It cooked for about 5 hours at 275. We ate some for dinner and then I used a slicer to thin slice the rest for sandwiches. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Out o' Sight brisket recipe, Jules! I copycatted your menu exactly and oh what a treat! Like Baking Nana, I bought my flat cut brisket at Costco, followed your directions to a "T" with one tiny addition of more sliced garlic and onion just because onions and garlic are in their own food group at Cathy Myers' house! Flavorful, fork tender - the very best we've ever had! I will NEVER return to yukky boiled meat again! I found myself cutting off chunks of the leftovers for a protein snack! Couldn't help myself! Randy got his Reuban sammie fix that's for certain! Thanks again for sharing, Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
We sat down to eat, my husband took a bite and said "yummmmm". Then he looked at me and asked "corned beef isn't usually this tender, or tasty". He didn't even put mustard on it! Simple very tasty way to cook corned beef. I made a colcannon with saute cabbage as the side. I didn't have any kitchen bouquet, so I just lightly peppered it. I have another corned beef in the fridge, this is how I will cook corned beef from now on. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This is a wonderful method for corned beef. I cooked the corned beef the day before then crusted it with dijon mustard & Brown sugar and put it back in the low oven just to warm it through and set the crust. It was perfection. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I've been boiling corned beef for decades! Never again!! This was by far the best corned beef I've had. I didn't have kitchen bouquet but I don't think it was needed. I also did not throw out the spice pack but put it in a large dutch oven with all the veggies and that gave my veggies a good flavor. I use onion, carrots, pototoes and rudabagga-may not have spelled that correctly and of course cabbage. For those of you that have never tried rudabagga now is a good time to taste it, I personally think it tastes like a cross between a potato and a carrot. Let me know what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Absolutely delicious! The only thing I changed was to use the onion and garlic along with a chunked up carrot as the rack for the meat rather than use a regular metal rack. I will never boil/simmer a corned beef again! NILELU - Colcannon is basically Irish mashed potatoes. You add thinly shredded, sauteed cabbage, scallions and leftover bacon or ham to VERY buttery mashed potatoes. Serve it with an extra pat of butter on top and you've got delicious, albeit not all that healthy, Irish potatoes. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
As an Irishman (ok, woman!), a cook and a fan of corned beef, I have cooked it many ways over the years. This was truly outstanding and the best I have ever had. Even my Italian husband went back for 3rds! There's not even enough left for a healthy sandwich :-( My piece was 2.5 lbs but still used the 6 cloves and full onion (as i said, hubby is Italian) and had no Kitchen Bouquet so just used some pepper as suggested by another review. As others have said, I will never go back to the crock pot or stove top again. Thanks for sharing, Mauigirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States