Braised Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
These are the best. We have family and friends that gorw collards and very year I'm asked to make these. I can't wait, in a few more weeks, I can make these bad boys. I like others used red wine vinegar, I love pepper vinegar and I'm sure that would work too. just cause that is what I had, and I used fresh salted pork, not store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Wow, these are the best greens I have ever had, and I am southern-bred so that says something. I mixed a half a cup of these greens and a bit of country sausage with my grits for breakfast this morning. Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is it: this is the one for me. I think I'm going to marry this recipe, because I will never use another greens recipe for as long as I live. Now, not only is my husband happy I can make something that actually tastes good, but my kids eat it, and I don't think I've ever had greens anywhere near as good as this recipe makes them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Very good - similar to what MIL used to make. I skipped the salt pork because I didn't have any and used a ham shank because I did. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
These were great! I'm not southern so collard greens were a bit of a mystery to me. Not anymore! I did have to make some adjustments. I used leftover Christmas ham, cubed, and a total of 1 quart of liquid for 1 pound of collards (one can of lowfat chicken broth, a can of water and a bouillon cube). I completely forgot the vinegar, but it didn't need it. It was delicious. I'm going to try the leftover liquid with some Brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I was a little skeptical of the sugar in this recipe and tasted it at intervals to see how the sugar blended. By the time it was done cooking you would never know there was sugar in it. The only things I will change when I make it next is to leave out the salt pork and use smoked hocks. I also chose to leave out the red pepper flakes and the vinegar because I used Tobasco sauce which is my personal favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is the best greens recipe I have tasted. Don't leave out the salt pork. I made these for a fish fry the night before. Everybody raved about these greens. My husband's family didn't think I had it in me. I also added smoked neckbones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I usually just make greens with hamhocks or neckbones with salt and pepper and they are so good made the basic way! However, these were delicious! I am torn as to which way I like better! I did save the 'pot liquor' and use it again, but the flavor wasn't as good . Wonderful recipe! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I just started making/eating greens and found this recipe. I used Andoulli chicken sausage to try and reduce calories and it was fantastic! I froze all the leftovers for future lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This was my first time making Collards and i tell you, being a southern gal... This is the best! I will never go back to can greens again! Like others i only used about a pound of ham hck... left all the other salty stuff out. There's no need. Really the chicken stock flavors it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States