Braised Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I made these tonight as a side dish for grilled steaks and baked potatoes. My family loved them! Definately will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcarter71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
THYME4MA said that, "balsamic vinegar on these is the bomb". Was that instead of the other vinegar or, after the greens are cooked?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My son-in-law loves collard greens from his childhood. He loved these! I used smoked ham hocks and omitted the pork salt; everything else was per the recipe. James added more hot sauce to suit his taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntertown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Hadn't tasted greens that i care for before now,but made up my own recipe between two on all recipes n really enjoyed them immensely. will make them again. I used kale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This recipe is very easy to follow all you need is to start it with enough time before hand, I couldn't find the right kind of meat at my grocer so I substituted a smoked ham hock and didn't even defrost before adding it. It turned out wonderful and had great flavor plus it was really simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodologist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I have read all the reviews and I am so grateful everyone loved this recipe. I am sorry my Gramma Ollie couldn't be here to taste them herself. Just to clarify a couple of things: I use chicken bouillon cubes and rinse the salt pork before hand. I have used smoked hocks with great results and bacon when I'm too lazy to find them. I also recently discovered that balsamic vinegar on these is the BOMB! But I use pepper sauce too. Thanks for all the great feedback and suggestions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THYME4MA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was very very good, I didn't have the ham hocks to add but for sure will next time. The flavors were very good, be sure to either make your own chicken stock or use a reduced salt one or this will be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made two modifications to this recipe. 1. Used a mix of greens - one bunch each collard, mustard, turnip and kale. 2. Used 1/2 tsp of my Dad's creole seasoning I omitted any extra salt or pepper and did not include the vinegar. Also, sauteed onions in a tablespoon of canola oil along with a couple of cloves of minced garlic and the creole seasoning before adding ham hocks, salt pork, chicken stock and bay leaves. I let this cook for about 2 hours to really get the pot liquor a nice flavor. After adding the greens I let this cook for another 1-1/2 on low. Chopped up the meat from the salt pork (removed all the fat) and from the ham hocks and added that to the finished greens. My husband loved this the first time out of the pot. Thanks for the recipe and all your suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
With a Grandma's name of Ollie-Belle I just had to check this out! My Grandma was my hero & made the best collards! I loved your recipe & will use it in the future. Thanks, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States