Braised Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I added thinly sliced radishes and chopped hard boiled egg to each bowl, topping the greens. I also rinsed what salt I could off the hocks. This was sooo good. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This is fantastic. Now all my southern friends prefer my greens to theirs. The only changes I made were using smoked ham hocks and smoked neckbones (not the salt pork). You can get these at all supermarkets (at least in the South).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Ive made greens before using a Rachel Ray recipe but and they were "ok" but these were great. You definatly need the ham hocks - my husband gobbled them up. Thanks so much! Served with Fried Catfish and cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Awesome. My "Southern" friends said I have them beat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Delicious. I made these w/ the leftover honey-baked ham bone and they came out great! Didn't need any extra salt because the ham and chicken broth are already so salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My mother and grandmother made collard greens every New Years Day for as long as I can remember as these are just as good (if not better). The hamhocks are crucial to the recipe and I would suggest cooking them in the stock for at least an hour before putting the greens in. Thank you for the recipe! Warmed vinegar on the side is also a great plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teresa L. Gab.
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I am a country girl at heart and this recipe truly delivered a nice updated taste.I let these set for awhile to absorb as much flavor as I could get and then reheated just before serving. We have had greens at our new years dinner since I can remember these where a hit even with my teens. I will have these as a stable on our table. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa L. Gab.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
don't need the salt pork (at least I dont think so)...I like cider vinegar on my greens too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This was my first time making Collards and i tell you, being a southern gal... This is the best! I will never go back to can greens again! Like others i only used about a pound of ham hck... left all the other salty stuff out. There's no need. Really the chicken stock flavors it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I usually just make greens with hamhocks or neckbones with salt and pepper and they are so good made the basic way! However, these were delicious! I am torn as to which way I like better! I did save the 'pot liquor' and use it again, but the flavor wasn't as good . Wonderful recipe! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States