Braised Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This is fantastic. Now all my southern friends prefer my greens to theirs. The only changes I made were using smoked ham hocks and smoked neckbones (not the salt pork). You can get these at all supermarkets (at least in the South).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I have read all the reviews and I am so grateful everyone loved this recipe. I am sorry my Gramma Ollie couldn't be here to taste them herself. Just to clarify a couple of things: I use chicken bouillon cubes and rinse the salt pork before hand. I have used smoked hocks with great results and bacon when I'm too lazy to find them. I also recently discovered that balsamic vinegar on these is the BOMB! But I use pepper sauce too. Thanks for all the great feedback and suggestions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THYME4MA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Wonderful way to cook greens of all types. I use 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar along with the red wine vinegar. I allow the pot liquor to cook at least 3 hours prior to adding greens. Also the left over liquid can be frozen for use later. I remove the meat and other large solids prior to freezing. Makes a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My mother and grandmother made collard greens every New Years Day for as long as I can remember as these are just as good (if not better). The hamhocks are crucial to the recipe and I would suggest cooking them in the stock for at least an hour before putting the greens in. Thank you for the recipe! Warmed vinegar on the side is also a great plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is one of the best "Greens" recipes ever...and this is from a girl born and raised in Georgia. Be sure and freeze the "pot liqour" as a base for future soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I am a Texas hillbilly and have eaten greens all my life. This was delicious even to my city slicker kids. They ask me to make them again. Who needs red wine vinegar? These are delicious right out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made two modifications to this recipe. 1. Used a mix of greens - one bunch each collard, mustard, turnip and kale. 2. Used 1/2 tsp of my Dad's creole seasoning I omitted any extra salt or pepper and did not include the vinegar. Also, sauteed onions in a tablespoon of canola oil along with a couple of cloves of minced garlic and the creole seasoning before adding ham hocks, salt pork, chicken stock and bay leaves. I let this cook for about 2 hours to really get the pot liquor a nice flavor. After adding the greens I let this cook for another 1-1/2 on low. Chopped up the meat from the salt pork (removed all the fat) and from the ham hocks and added that to the finished greens. My husband loved this the first time out of the pot. Thanks for the recipe and all your suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teresa L. Gab.
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I am a country girl at heart and this recipe truly delivered a nice updated taste.I let these set for awhile to absorb as much flavor as I could get and then reheated just before serving. We have had greens at our new years dinner since I can remember these where a hit even with my teens. I will have these as a stable on our table. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa L. Gab.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Delicious. I made these w/ the leftover honey-baked ham bone and they came out great! Didn't need any extra salt because the ham and chicken broth are already so salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Ive made greens before using a Rachel Ray recipe but and they were "ok" but these were great. You definatly need the ham hocks - my husband gobbled them up. Thanks so much! Served with Fried Catfish and cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States