Braised Chicken Breasts in Tasty Mirepoix Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This recipe turned out very tasty, but I thought it was a little salty. But as I was cooking it, my roommate and my Fiancé kept asking when it was going to be done, because it smelled so good. While they were eating it, my roommate said: "It's soooo good! I'm really full now, but I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow!" I make dinner for them every night, and it's the first time he's ever said that! My Fiancé also personally made sure that I printed out the recipe so that I could make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I never add salt to a recipe, so I had no problems with excess. It's tasty, full of the things I like best, and I can hardly wait to try it with boneless, skinless thighs. We served over radiatore, and my wife said it was a keeper. The kids, of course, will eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Flavorful, satisfying and easy to make. The chicken ended up with a wonderful fall-apart texture that I usually associate with braised red meat. Highly recommended. NB: Either make your own chicken broth or use "low sodium" broth in order to avoid a very salty dish. You can always taste it and add more salt while cooking. Remember that if the liquid reduces by half on the stove, it will be twice as salty as it was originally, and most canned chicken broths are too salty in the first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
Very good and easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Absolutely delicious. My husband would complement me after every bite. I love it that it has this delicious, thick gravy that you don't have to make with butter, flour and cream. I followed ingredients exactly. For salt and pepper to taste, I added 1/2 tsp of each. Since I used store-bought broth, next time I'll nix all the extra salt (for chicken and for sauce). Simmered exactly how long they suggested but it was still too watery so I boiled it on high for another 30 minutes (on top of the 120 minutes) and it was perfect. The chicken is amazingly tender and the flavor of it all is superb. We served it over mashed potatoes and were sooooo pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
Very flavorful and easy. This is one of my favorite chicken recipes. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Fantastic Sauce! This recipe was such a hit, plus my house smelled fantastic from the sauce simmering. Really effortless to make, do not cut corners though simmer that sauce for the 90 minutes, its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
I used homemade chicken broth and less salt and this still turned out rather salty. Otherwise it was very delicious! Broth was rather soupy so I had to add some cornstarch but I used leftover broth for my chicken soup. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was out of this world. I don't like to cook but have to cook and this was fairly easy and yet so good! It takes a while but you really don't have to do much to it while it cooks. Enjoy! Sushi14
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Great over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States