Braised Chicken Breasts in Tasty Mirepoix Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was soo good! It does take a long time to cook, but it is so worth it. I didn't add any salt to the dish and used low sodium chicken broth as other reviewers said and it had the perfect amount of flavor. My sauce did get thick on its own, no need for thickeners. The flavor was great and the dish was easy, though time consuming. I will definitely make this again, I served it over mashed potatoes and everyone enjoyed it. PS Do not try to make this in the slow cooker... not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I added a can of crushed tomatoes and used white pepper, rosemary, and a little cumin in addition to the other spices. I also brought the sauce to a boil, threw in the chicken that I had seared, and finished it off in the oven for two hours at 350. I also added a leek, and reduced the broth by half cup due to the liquid in the tomatoes. Huge flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is one of my favorite dishes. The flavors are amazing. Just don't cook the chicken too long, as it will get dry. I served with mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Straightforward but very nice. Served with acini de pepe with butter, parmesan, and fresh parsley. Made a few adjustments. Used bone-in chicken. Used butter rather than olive oil. Cut the broth in half. Thickened the liquid with a little cornstarch. Overall thought it was very tasty. But I always love anything braised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is delicious, easy french cooking. Be careful how much you salt the veggies - the saltiness intensifies as it reduces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This dish was okay, but we thought that it was a little bland. The chicken did turn out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy_H
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Chicken was pretty good. The family didn't care for the sauce and veggies. That was too bad since it took a little over 2 hrs to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Excellent comfort food. Turned out just delicious We agree that no extra salt is needed in this recipe. We enjoyed it very much and not very fatty. The only fat is the olive oil and you can control that. My husband has to watch his fats and we found this to be a very excellent dish. We added red skin potatoes to the pot mid way I think and that was a delicious addition. Wonderful. We would HIGHLY recommend it . Very good indeed. We had it with crusty Italian bread and a glass of red wine and it was a meal made for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Really good...but I wasn't able to get the stew to thicken...other than that it was AMAZING! by the I did not add salt to the the veggies while cooking....and lightly salted the chicken. Came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Because this is a reduction recipe, use unsalted (better) or low-salt broth, and adjust the salt after the reduction. Otherwise, this will be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States