Braised Chicken Breasts in Tasty Mirepoix Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I tried this recipe a few days ago and my normally picky family loved it. I followed the recipe all the way through, except, I put my chicken back into the pan within an hour of simmering, instead of 90 minutes, which made the chicken so moist and tender. The flavor was perfect and my entire house smelled so good. I served this delicious dish over mexican rice. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is by far the best thing I've found to do with boneless/skinless chicken breasts. If you're wondering what it tastes like, to me it's a lot like really good homemade chicken noodle soup... without the noodles and a little thicker. I read the other reviews before I made it, and the only change I made besides scaling the recipe down, was to cut the chicken broth in half and then made up the difference with water. It got a little thick on me about 30 minutes out when I added the chicken, and I just added some more water and let it cook until the consistency was to my liking and lowered the sodium enough to where I ended up adding a touch more for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
the flavor was really good tho it never thickened up so i used a slurry of cornstarch and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Outstanding Comfort Food!! -- we used extra onion and a little more wine -- was excellent over white rice -- definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SycamoreMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
great recipe. the kids even love it! didn't use any salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I am giving this receipe five stars because it was very good THE DAY AFTER for leftovers. I initially followed the recipe to the T (I did not use salt at all based on the reviews and simply used swansons chicken broth, the full amt. called for in the recipe) and ended up with a soup/broth like consistency which with mashed potatoes, was a bit strange to eat, yet the flavor was good. I cooked for a total of 2.5 hours and hoped that the flour used in browning the chicken would thicken the broth but it did not happen. HOWEVER, when I warmed this up in the oven the day after, the onions seemed to evaporate into the broth and glazed into a nice gravy which was soo good with the potatoes. Thanks for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was soo good! It does take a long time to cook, but it is so worth it. I didn't add any salt to the dish and used low sodium chicken broth as other reviewers said and it had the perfect amount of flavor. My sauce did get thick on its own, no need for thickeners. The flavor was great and the dish was easy, though time consuming. I will definitely make this again, I served it over mashed potatoes and everyone enjoyed it. PS Do not try to make this in the slow cooker... not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I added a can of crushed tomatoes and used white pepper, rosemary, and a little cumin in addition to the other spices. I also brought the sauce to a boil, threw in the chicken that I had seared, and finished it off in the oven for two hours at 350. I also added a leek, and reduced the broth by half cup due to the liquid in the tomatoes. Huge flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is one of my favorite dishes. The flavors are amazing. Just don't cook the chicken too long, as it will get dry. I served with mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States