Braised Chicken Breasts in Tasty Mirepoix Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Flavorful, satisfying and easy to make. The chicken ended up with a wonderful fall-apart texture that I usually associate with braised red meat. Highly recommended. NB: Either make your own chicken broth or use "low sodium" broth in order to avoid a very salty dish. You can always taste it and add more salt while cooking. Remember that if the liquid reduces by half on the stove, it will be twice as salty as it was originally, and most canned chicken broths are too salty in the first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This recipe turned out very tasty, but I thought it was a little salty. But as I was cooking it, my roommate and my Fiancé kept asking when it was going to be done, because it smelled so good. While they were eating it, my roommate said: "It's soooo good! I'm really full now, but I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow!" I make dinner for them every night, and it's the first time he's ever said that! My Fiancé also personally made sure that I printed out the recipe so that I could make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Fantastic Sauce! This recipe was such a hit, plus my house smelled fantastic from the sauce simmering. Really effortless to make, do not cut corners though simmer that sauce for the 90 minutes, its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Unlike many other reviewers, my chicken and its sauce was not salty. And mine took a lot less cooking time. If you reduce 64 ounces (a half gallon!) of broth to a stew-like consistency of course its going to be salty, not to mention it's going to take forever to cook down! I used half the amount of chicken broth called for. I cooked it at fairly high heat rather than a simmer, and didn't return the chicken to the pan until it was almost the consistency I was after, tho' I did add a little cornstarch slurry to give the sauce some viscosity. As for seasoning, I wanted more than just the salt and pepper called for before dredging the chicken in the flour, so I gave it a good sprinkle of Montreal Chicken Seasoning as well, which worked well with the thyme (I used fresh). This was delicious. A simple mirepoix (or soffritto in Italian) was transformed into something sublime - and it took about half an hour from start to finish. I served this over rice alongside steamed zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Great over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Excellent. Because I hadn't read any reviews before I tried this recipe I did add salt to the sauce and it was on the salty side, but definitely not overpowering. Instead of cooking the chicken before I made the sauce, I cooked the chicken while the sauce was simmering and ended up saving some time overall. The sauce didn't quite thicken as much as I expected so I added a little flour paste which gave it more of a gravy-like consistency. The recipe was a great hit and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was soo good! It does take a long time to cook, but it is so worth it. I didn't add any salt to the dish and used low sodium chicken broth as other reviewers said and it had the perfect amount of flavor. My sauce did get thick on its own, no need for thickeners. The flavor was great and the dish was easy, though time consuming. I will definitely make this again, I served it over mashed potatoes and everyone enjoyed it. PS Do not try to make this in the slow cooker... not the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Wonderful recipe to have on hand. I changed just a few things. I cut my chicken breasts (3 good sized - boneless, skinless) on the bias in thick strips. I knew I wanted to mix in pasta so I needed the chicken to be smaller. I actually returned the chicken to the pot after cooking the mirepoix and let everything go on low for 2 hours. I used half the stock called for (a reduced sodium brand after reading the other comments) to create a thicker consistency. I cooked off 8 oz of radiatore pasta and mixed it all together. I topped it with grated Pecorino Romano cheese for added bite and with the rest of the bottle of wine, my husband and I had a fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brwbailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Absolutely delicious. My husband would complement me after every bite. I love it that it has this delicious, thick gravy that you don't have to make with butter, flour and cream. I followed ingredients exactly. For salt and pepper to taste, I added 1/2 tsp of each. Since I used store-bought broth, next time I'll nix all the extra salt (for chicken and for sauce). Simmered exactly how long they suggested but it was still too watery so I boiled it on high for another 30 minutes (on top of the 120 minutes) and it was perfect. The chicken is amazingly tender and the flavor of it all is superb. We served it over mashed potatoes and were sooooo pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This was really really salty! Also I had tons of broth, it never thickened or became stew-like. It did have a good flavor and I saved all the broth to use a a base for chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States