Braised Chicken Breasts in Tasty Mirepoix Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Excellent. Because I hadn't read any reviews before I tried this recipe I did add salt to the sauce and it was on the salty side, but definitely not overpowering. Instead of cooking the chicken before I made the sauce, I cooked the chicken while the sauce was simmering and ended up saving some time overall. The sauce didn't quite thicken as much as I expected so I added a little flour paste which gave it more of a gravy-like consistency. The recipe was a great hit and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Great over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Flavorful, satisfying and easy to make. The chicken ended up with a wonderful fall-apart texture that I usually associate with braised red meat. Highly recommended. NB: Either make your own chicken broth or use "low sodium" broth in order to avoid a very salty dish. You can always taste it and add more salt while cooking. Remember that if the liquid reduces by half on the stove, it will be twice as salty as it was originally, and most canned chicken broths are too salty in the first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I never add salt to a recipe, so I had no problems with excess. It's tasty, full of the things I like best, and I can hardly wait to try it with boneless, skinless thighs. We served over radiatore, and my wife said it was a keeper. The kids, of course, will eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Absolutely delicious. My husband would complement me after every bite. I love it that it has this delicious, thick gravy that you don't have to make with butter, flour and cream. I followed ingredients exactly. For salt and pepper to taste, I added 1/2 tsp of each. Since I used store-bought broth, next time I'll nix all the extra salt (for chicken and for sauce). Simmered exactly how long they suggested but it was still too watery so I boiled it on high for another 30 minutes (on top of the 120 minutes) and it was perfect. The chicken is amazingly tender and the flavor of it all is superb. We served it over mashed potatoes and were sooooo pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Unfortunately, this dish was tooooo salty. I didn't add any salt and it was still too much. The vegetables just sucked the salt up from the broth and the salt taste was overpowering. Maybe only one can of broth and one can of water instead of two cans of broth. Probably won't redux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
My husband raved and raved about this one. I also modified the recipe a bit - I halved it for the two of us and then added only 16oz chicken stock and simmered for 30 minutes as suggested by another reviewer. Also, our grocery sells "Mirepoix" already diced in our produce section. If you make this, check and see if your local grocer also provides this convenience :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Fantastic Sauce! This recipe was such a hit, plus my house smelled fantastic from the sauce simmering. Really effortless to make, do not cut corners though simmer that sauce for the 90 minutes, its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This was a tasty dish, but rather time-consuming. I'll probably make it again, but on a weekend when I'm not on a schedule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This chicken was rather tasty and did not turn out salty because I adjusted the recipe a bit after reading everyone elses review. I only used two (2) 10 oz cans of chicken broth and let it simmer for 30 minutes instead of 90 minutes. Also, I only put salt on the chicken...not in the pan. I only gave it 3 stars because I already have a recipe that taste similar and this one is not as outstanding as that one. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States