Braised Chicken Breasts in Tasty Mirepoix Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was great. My family prefers thighs and drumsticks so I used these, bone in/skin as a substitute. Cooked low and slow, covered in the oven for about 90 minutes and it was wonderful. Kids fought over leftovers, even with the carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This dish was very good but I found it to be salty. I have cooked with canned chicken broth in the past and haven't found the soup I made overly salty. I think that the longer you cook the chicken broth the more the saltiness comes out. I would make this again but use reduce sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This easy stew reminds me of country French cooking methods. I didn't have a dry white wine; I used a Reisling. Topped it with dumplings made from the "Dumplings" recipe at this site submitted by Carol. It was delicious, and the dumplings thickened it perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Wonderful recipe to have on hand. I changed just a few things. I cut my chicken breasts (3 good sized - boneless, skinless) on the bias in thick strips. I knew I wanted to mix in pasta so I needed the chicken to be smaller. I actually returned the chicken to the pot after cooking the mirepoix and let everything go on low for 2 hours. I used half the stock called for (a reduced sodium brand after reading the other comments) to create a thicker consistency. I cooked off 8 oz of radiatore pasta and mixed it all together. I topped it with grated Pecorino Romano cheese for added bite and with the rest of the bottle of wine, my husband and I had a fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brwbailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Wow--the "vegetable gravy" this makes is great--different and delicious. Very impressed with this dish and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This is very, very good, even though I am only giving it four stars. I followed the recipe exactly and it is just way too salty. I wish I had read the other reviews before I made this dish. I would have used low-sodium broth. I also cooked it an extra 30 minutes and it never did become stew-like. Next time I will thicken the sauce before serving. All in all, however, it is a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
A bit disappointing. I wanted more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Excellent. Because I hadn't read any reviews before I tried this recipe I did add salt to the sauce and it was on the salty side, but definitely not overpowering. Instead of cooking the chicken before I made the sauce, I cooked the chicken while the sauce was simmering and ended up saving some time overall. The sauce didn't quite thicken as much as I expected so I added a little flour paste which gave it more of a gravy-like consistency. The recipe was a great hit and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Great over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Flavorful, satisfying and easy to make. The chicken ended up with a wonderful fall-apart texture that I usually associate with braised red meat. Highly recommended. NB: Either make your own chicken broth or use "low sodium" broth in order to avoid a very salty dish. You can always taste it and add more salt while cooking. Remember that if the liquid reduces by half on the stove, it will be twice as salty as it was originally, and most canned chicken broths are too salty in the first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States