Braised Celery Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
One day while I was cutting up some celery for my kids snack I realized that no one ever serves celery cooked for a side dish. I was curious and began looking for a recipe to try and was lucky enough to discover this one. I made it for my husband and me to go with our dinner that night and it was WONDERFUL. The celery was so tender and flavorful even my husband RAVED about it (and I was a little leary serving it to him to begin with). I know the thought of braised celery doesn't sound very exciting, but try it when you are in the mood for something different! It's delicous. I wish there were more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
The only fresh vegetable I had was celery so right before dinner time I did a search and came up with this one. I am so happy I tried it! My husband and I have had it twice in the past week and both really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
excellent! I usually find the taste of celery too outspoken. This recipe makes an excellent side dish of celery with a very smooth flavor. I added some lemon juice to it which made it even better. I often serve this with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This recipe was easy, and an especially helpful as a side dish for those on those low-carb diets! It tastes much like celery out of chicken soup, which is, of course, expected and always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
I am always looking for different side dishes to add variety to my meals, and this is one of the best I've found. My husband and I are doing the low-carb thing, but I have decided that even if we weren't, I would still make this dish. It is simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
This was average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
Not a recipe I would make again. Rather bland although it is a way to use up celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Very good and tasty. A different change of pace from side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANGSTON28

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
Not very flavourable. Not worth using an element for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I didn't mind this dish, but the three other people at the table wouldn't eat it after trying a piece. One person said it's like soggy celery... eww
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Celery Root and Potato Puree

See what earthy celery root does for basic mashed potatoes.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States