Braised Black Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I love to make a big batch of these to eat both hot and cold during the week. They are really great to bulk up a salad, or make a nice side dish at dinner. They also freeze really well, so I put them in 1-cup portions in freezer bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I just made this with white vinegar instead of Champagne and it is delicious! I used french lentils and they worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Never cooked beluga lentils before but had tasted it at a restaurant. This recipe was easy to follow and the lentils tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is quite delicious. The method works fine for brown or green lentils as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I used plain old lentils and this still turned out delicious. I also omitted the champagne vinegar and used white wine vinegar in its place as it was all I had. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna Quartuccio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
WOW! I like lentils but I now LOVE black beluga lentils! Thanks Chef John! This is absolutely delicious! I agree with Diane M. You have to try this recipe to fall in love with this lentil dish. I have now made it at least 4 times exactly to directions changing out the chicken stock for vege stock only...(I am a vegetarian.)It is not a hard recipe and comes out a winner every time! Even people who are not big lentil fans love it! Black lentils are nothing like other lentils and they hold their texture and absorb the flavor. I have served it with tofu steaks and a salad, or with brown rice and a vegetable. Great as left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
So delicious! I found that it was delicious even without the vinegar and parsley. I really enjoyed the video tutorial as well :) This will be on my menu rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Chef John, you've nailed it again, and talked me into buying black lentils online, since our local Co-op didn't carry them. This was fantastic. I used balsamic vinegar because I didn't have champagne vinegar. (I have never even seen that.) It was fantastic. I also added minced garlic. I couldn't help it. Home run!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Fantastic! You just have to make it to understand how good it is. (Watch the video first - it's not necessary, but it's a nice addition.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I was wandering the Organic section at the grocery store today looking for something healthy and came across Black Caviar Lentils. They looked interesting so I thought I'd try them. I got home and found this recipe for them. Who knew lentils could be tasty? I usually don't like lentils, but this recipe is good. I didn't use the butter (trying to make it healthier) and did not have fresh thyme. I used a palm-full of dried thyme instead. I also added a bit more bouillon for flavor because I did not have the Champagne vinegar. Will be adding this recipe to my recipe box. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States