Braised Black Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is quite delicious. The method works fine for brown or green lentils as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I used plain old lentils and this still turned out delicious. I also omitted the champagne vinegar and used white wine vinegar in its place as it was all I had. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnna Quartuccio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
WOW! I like lentils but I now LOVE black beluga lentils! Thanks Chef John! This is absolutely delicious! I agree with Diane M. You have to try this recipe to fall in love with this lentil dish. I have now made it at least 4 times exactly to directions changing out the chicken stock for vege stock only...(I am a vegetarian.)It is not a hard recipe and comes out a winner every time! Even people who are not big lentil fans love it! Black lentils are nothing like other lentils and they hold their texture and absorb the flavor. I have served it with tofu steaks and a salad, or with brown rice and a vegetable. Great as left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
So delicious! I found that it was delicious even without the vinegar and parsley. I really enjoyed the video tutorial as well :) This will be on my menu rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Chef John, you've nailed it again, and talked me into buying black lentils online, since our local Co-op didn't carry them. This was fantastic. I used balsamic vinegar because I didn't have champagne vinegar. (I have never even seen that.) It was fantastic. I also added minced garlic. I couldn't help it. Home run!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Fantastic! You just have to make it to understand how good it is. (Watch the video first - it's not necessary, but it's a nice addition.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I was wandering the Organic section at the grocery store today looking for something healthy and came across Black Caviar Lentils. They looked interesting so I thought I'd try them. I got home and found this recipe for them. Who knew lentils could be tasty? I usually don't like lentils, but this recipe is good. I didn't use the butter (trying to make it healthier) and did not have fresh thyme. I used a palm-full of dried thyme instead. I also added a bit more bouillon for flavor because I did not have the Champagne vinegar. Will be adding this recipe to my recipe box. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Will become a standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This is excellent, especially when with Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I cooked these for at least 45 min with additional broth, and they still seemed too firm to me. I'm thinking that next time I should let the lentils soak in water overnight, perhaps. The flavor was really good, and I used a tarragon vinegar that I had on hand. I don't get much flavor our of parsley, so I think I will try cilantro next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States