Braised Black Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
So delicious! I found that it was delicious even without the vinegar and parsley. I really enjoyed the video tutorial as well :) This will be on my menu rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Chef John, you've nailed it again, and talked me into buying black lentils online, since our local Co-op didn't carry them. This was fantastic. I used balsamic vinegar because I didn't have champagne vinegar. (I have never even seen that.) It was fantastic. I also added minced garlic. I couldn't help it. Home run!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Fantastic! You just have to make it to understand how good it is. (Watch the video first - it's not necessary, but it's a nice addition.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I was wandering the Organic section at the grocery store today looking for something healthy and came across Black Caviar Lentils. They looked interesting so I thought I'd try them. I got home and found this recipe for them. Who knew lentils could be tasty? I usually don't like lentils, but this recipe is good. I didn't use the butter (trying to make it healthier) and did not have fresh thyme. I used a palm-full of dried thyme instead. I also added a bit more bouillon for flavor because I did not have the Champagne vinegar. Will be adding this recipe to my recipe box. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Will become a standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This is excellent, especially when with Spicy Tarragon Yogurt Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I cooked these for at least 45 min with additional broth, and they still seemed too firm to me. I'm thinking that next time I should let the lentils soak in water overnight, perhaps. The flavor was really good, and I used a tarragon vinegar that I had on hand. I don't get much flavor our of parsley, so I think I will try cilantro next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I used vegetable stock instead of chicken. Came out delicious. This is how im having black lentils from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States