Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2000
I too had been looking for a good short ribs recipe and this is the best. I will stop here. Easy to cut in half for 2 and easy to make. I did add a little more garlic. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2001
I too have been searching for a short rib recipe, with no luck. This on is excellent!! I altered it for 2 people and we loved it! I will definitely be making this recipe again. The best part was that is was so simple. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I subbed with a small can of tomato sauce and some sun-dried tomatoes. I also added a half cup of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
My whole family loved this recipe!! Very Very Good!! We had a full meal with this! Just add bread and you have it all! We have a big family and this is perfet for us!! We even had leftovers that went over well, again! Thank you for a wonderful meal for a hearty family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Enjoyed this recipe. Easy to make and the meat just falls off the bone. The gravy comes out very tasty. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I had never cooked short ribs before and I was skeptical when I saw the meat and this recipe, but it was excellent. The meat was juicy and tender (falling off the bone). There was a lot of flavor. The meat has a high fat content, but I think that's OK for an occasional treat like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This recipe is fantastic!!! I made it a lot easier to cook by using a pressure cooker, and made a couple of small changes. I first browned the ribs in a frying pan. I then put the beef, carrots, onions, tomatoes, garlic and two beef bouillon cubes in the pressure cooker for 25 minutes. I cooked the potatoes separately in water while waiting. I removed the meat from the cooker, and thickened the liquid, (including the carrots and onions) with the flour and water. I served the potatoes and ribs in separate bowls, and the liquid in another. A smash hit, eaten entirely in one sitting by two teenagers!!! They even asked for the same meal the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gimli, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This is the best short rib recipe. The meat is so tender and the flavor of the dish is exceptional. Thanks Mr. Stern!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Excellent! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Excellent flavor, but the meat needed to be cooked longer, so it would almost fall off the bone. Flavor great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was excellent!! Even if you are not a regular cook you can make this and WOW the heck out of whom you are making it for! I made this lastnight for my family and everyone just loved it. This was my first time ever preparing short ribs. We all felt like we were eating short ribs from a 5 star restaraunt! Try these you will not be sorry!! Hats off to the creator of this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States