Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I tried these in the crockpot on a very busy day. I did make a few changes, though it wasn't intentional. I always like to try the recipe as is the first time, however, I didn't have a green pepper, so that was omitted. I also didn't have two cans of tomato sauce. So I used the one I had and then a 14 oz. can of diced tomatos. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly. The tomato chunks made a nice addition. I also browned the meat on all sides before placing in the crockpot and then cooked as directed. When the meat was finished, I set it on a platter and added water and corn starch to the liquids to make a sauce. Then I poured a little over the top of the meat and the rest I served on the side with garlic mashed potatoes. My family loved them. Next time I'll try it as listed and add some garlic. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very easy recipe that is quite tasty as well. My family loved it! I added a bit of dry red wine near the end of cooking to give it a little kick and help tenderize the meat. It came out great! I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great recipe! Very easy and flavorful! After browning the meat, I deglazed with red wine. I used beef stock, enough to cover the meat, and I added a bay leaf. I thickened the gravy with cornstarch. I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
its hard to find a great recipe for short ribs now if i could just find them at a good price..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is very much like i do short ribs. except i brown the rib in oil,after flouring them. remove and add the veggies to the pot, cook them off and then add red wine, let that cook off and then add the ribs back in and add beef broth to cover the whole thing, and into the oven it goes. for about 2 hr. at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Made this for Sunday dinner. Absolutely delicious........my husband said these were the best short ribs he's even had. Great recipe......will make these again and again!!/Lesley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mohrsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Loved this recipe, and so easy! I also added 1/2 cup of red wine to the braising liquid, and added a little gravy master to the gravy to darken the sauce. Next time, I will cook the potatoes seperately as one other reviewer had suggested; they just get a little too mushy cooked with everything else. Will definitley make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was wonderful!, Smoothed out the gravy with a submersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe for making the most of a very economical cut of meat. I added some celery root and used two fresh tomatoes since I do not keep canned ones in the pantry. The next time I make this I will be adding some more seasoning to it though! The meat is flavourful, but the sauce bland. I'm thinking a bay leaf and some red wine would help matters immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I made a few alterations to this,instead of a can of tomato's I used a bottle of BBQ sauce and diced 4 plum tomato's which I added to the other veggies. The ribs were very tender.. this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSKIPPY2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States