Braised Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Just tried this recipe and my family loved it! It was easy to make and delicious tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
great recipe. my family really liked this recipe. the ribs were very tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I'm neutral on this one. I have to admit I made the recipe exactly as it is here and I also thought it was very bland and not what I expected when you look at the picture. If I make this again, I'll use beef stock instead of water and I'll add some fresh herbs like parsley and thyme. It also needs a lot more salt. The ribs do turn out very tender, however, as with any recipe for braising. You need to use a cast iron dutch oven for the best outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe was a "keeper"! I added yam, parsnip, and rutabaga to make the vegetables more interesting. A really nice change to stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was good, but I wouldn't do the extra work it took to prepare this again because it ended up tasting like a basic pot roast which is easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was pretty good. I had to switch things up a bit. The grocery store I went to had a small selection of ribs so I was unable to get short ribs. Instead I used boneless country style. I substituted green peppers for onions because my husband refuses to eat onions. You really have to add A LOT more water as you go! The meat came out nice and tender. But it doesn't look at all like the picture shown. The gravy comes out more red then brown due to the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Sorry, but I am gonna be severe here: I am shocked that so many liked this recipe. I really did follow it to the letter and found it bland, with no depth and a total waste of good meat! I will need to do some serious doctoring to help make this servable to my family. No herbs, wine, nothing? wow, a big bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was OK but not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This recipe was excellent, but I will make a few changes next time. I will add enough water/stewed tomatoes to cover the ribs while they cook for 1 1/2. The liquid only went up about 1/2 way on the ribs and it took a long time for them to break down. I added a bay leaf when I added the vegetables and that gave it a great flavor. I also added quite a bit of water when cooking the vegetables. This was a great meal with fresh bread, good wine and great friends. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Excellent! I'm so glad that you added this recipe to the site. I have hundreds of recipes but none for Short Ribs of Beef. The meal was tasty and it did not require a lot of time or attention. I used my slow cooker and was able to do other things while it cooked. My family enjoyed this dinner and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States